Xonotic is a free, open source (GPL) ultra-fast, first-person shooter


Follow Xonotic on

Post Reply 
Solarium Map Issue
07-18-2011, 12:05 AM
Post: #1
Solarium Map Issue
I notice that bots will materialize on top of each other on the Solarium map that I've installed. Its kinda cool knocking out two bots at the same time. but I don't think that the bots should be materializing on top of each other. I'm not seeing this on any other maps I've installed.

What is the best way to troubleshoot where/what the issue is? I started the game in a console (I'm running Linux) and recorded part of the game play if someone is interested. I also looked over the output from the console and I didn't see anything in the output during the recording that would suggest an issue.

I'm seeing the following on the console when I quit playing Xonotic:

Collision_ValidateBrush: point #6 (-531.638611 -2876.000000 167.259857) infront
of plane #10 (-0.306920 0.940657 0.144794 -2518.002686)
3 unnamed
7
-532.444824 -2878.291016 167.006226
-532.444824 -2876.290527 167.006226
-531.389771 -2876.000000 167.338135
-531.389771 -2877.997314 167.338135
-532.249390 -2876.000000 165.772995
-532.249390 -2878.036865 165.772995
-531.638611 -2876.000000 167.259857
4
14
-1.000000 0.000000 0.000000 532.444824
1.000000 0.000000 0.000000 -531.389771
0.000000 -1.000000 0.000000 2878.291016
0.000000 1.000000 0.000000 -2876.000000
0.000000 0.000000 -1.000000 -165.772995
0.000000 0.000000 1.000000 167.337296
-0.300089 0.000000 0.953911 319.089783
0.877026 0.000000 -0.480443 -546.440979
-0.987431 0.000000 -0.158050 499.359375
0.306920 -0.940657 -0.144794 2519.884033
-0.306920 0.940657 0.144794 -2518.002686
0.267730 -0.963494 0.000000 2630.663818
0.000000 0.999692 -0.024805 -2879.263916
-0.000000 -0.979403 -0.201915 2785.285889
copying original lightmap 0 (512x512) to 0 (at 0,0)
copying original lightmap 2 (512x512) to 0 (at 512,0)
copying original lightmap 4 (512x512) to 0 (at 1024,0)
copying original lightmap 6 (512x512) to 0 (at 1536,0)
copying original lightmap 8 (512x512) to 0 (at 0,512)
copying original lightmap 10 (512x512) to 0 (at 512,512)
copying original lightmap 12 (512x512) to 0 (at 1024,512)

I'm also seeing the following on several maps I've installed:

WARNING: autogenerated mapinfo file maps/autogenerated/evil(space)ctf.mapinfo
has been loaded; please edit that file and move it to
maps/evil(space)ctf.mapinfo

Map bloodrage_v2 contains the legacy 'type' keyword which is deprecated and will
be removed in the future. Please migrate the mapinfo file to 'gametype'.

And I did come across:

couldn't exec maps/solarium.cfg

So did I not install the maps properly?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-18-2011, 02:02 AM
Post: #2
RE: Solarium Map Issue
No. Many maps do not have .mapinfo files nor .cfg files, and it's fine, because that doesn't mean you can't play, since mapinfo autogeneration is pretty accurate now. However bot behavior is determined by a .waypoints file, which many maps are missing. IMO the only real problem is with Solarium. Try downloading newer version, or if it IS newest version, report it on its thread.

(08-10-2012 02:37 AM)Mr. Bougo Wrote:  Cloud is the new Web 2.0. It makes no damn sense to me.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-18-2011, 03:24 PM
Post: #3
RE: Solarium Map Issue
And specifically, if bots "overlap", this is likely caused by not enough spawnpoints (info_player_* entities).

BRLOGENSHFEGLE (core dumped)

The Bot Orchestra is back! | Xoylent Easter Egg | 5bots1piano
My music on Google Play and SoundCloud
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-18-2011, 06:21 PM
Post: #4
RE: Solarium Map Issue
If there is not a waypoint file for bots they won't move from their spawn (unless items near). Then, if you have more bots than spawn points and no waypoint file, they will spawn on top of each other. I made waypoints for this map, not sure what version you are playing on and what version theShadow included them in.

The bloodrage error is just an inconsistency between Nexuiz and Xonotic, instead of 'type dm' in Nexuiz mapinfos, Xonotic uses 'gametype'. For now Xonotic still recognizes the old ones, but if you or the author want to update it for xonotic they should edit it to gametype.

None of the problems are anything you are doing.

nowego [MLP:FiM]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-18-2011, 11:08 PM (This post was last modified: 07-18-2011 11:10 PM by Antairs.)
Post: #5
RE: Solarium Map Issue
(07-18-2011 06:21 PM)nowego4 Wrote:  If there is not a waypoint file for bots they won't move from their spawn (unless items near). Then, if you have more bots than spawn points and no waypoint file, they will spawn on top of each other. I made waypoints for this map, not sure what version you are playing on and what version theShadow included them in.

The bloodrage error is just an inconsistency between Nexuiz and Xonotic, instead of 'type dm' in Nexuiz mapinfos, Xonotic uses 'gametype'. For now Xonotic still recognizes the old ones, but if you or the author want to update it for xonotic they should edit it to gametype.

None of the problems are anything you are doing.

I downloaded the maps from http://dev.xonotic.org/projects/xonotic/...c-Map-Pack dated 4/12/2011. I'll look at the install again. I think I just dumped then in the Xonotic/data directory if I remember right.

Something I did notice. In .xonotic/ I have two data directories. so I have

.xonotic/
.xonotic/data with the files: config.cfg darkplaces_history.txt
.xonotic/data/data with the files: client.db server.db
.xonotic/data/data/maps with sirius.waypoints.cache solarium.waypoints.cache
.xonotic/data/data/maps/autogenerated that has 11 mapinfo files.

Seems odd to me to have 2 data directories.
(07-18-2011 02:02 AM)Minkovsky Wrote:  No. Many maps do not have .mapinfo files nor .cfg files, and it's fine, because that doesn't mean you can't play, since mapinfo autogeneration is pretty accurate now. However bot behavior is determined by a .waypoints file, which many maps are missing. IMO the only real problem is with Solarium. Try downloading newer version, or if it IS newest version, report it on its thread.

I just saw the map section of the forum. Smile I'll pick this up over there.


To all: Thanks for the feedback. Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [SOLVED] Ubuntu 12.04 Install Issue Red Viper 6 774 03-08-2014 03:20 AM
Last Post: Halogene
  Mac OSX 10.9 (Possibly 10.8 as well) Video Issue sirdavesmith 0 704 10-24-2013 09:07 AM
Last Post: sirdavesmith
  [SOLVED] Little issue concerning video Mk 12 940 08-19-2013 07:57 AM
Last Post: Mr. Bougo
  Mouse Accel issue Bolwind 17 2,545 10-09-2012 12:54 PM
Last Post: Mr. Bougo
  Stuttering Issue rocknroll237 10 1,969 06-06-2012 10:28 AM
Last Post: Mr. Bougo
  KDE related issue simongaiteiro 7 1,757 03-20-2012 03:15 PM
Last Post: edh
  HELP: Linux Server Setup Issue LukeLC 6 3,258 10-24-2011 04:45 PM
Last Post: LukeLC
  disconnected from server models version issue Couch_Potato_MOJOceratops 4 1,452 09-28-2011 03:23 PM
Last Post: Couch_Potato_MOJOceratops
  server setup issue Rage_ATWM 6 2,184 06-06-2011 04:12 AM
Last Post: clanclanclan
  Weird performance issue vede 8 2,056 09-10-2010 01:02 AM
Last Post: divVerent

Forum Jump: