Create an account

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Planning to help with the code - where to start?

I've always wanted to help this project more than just translating lines into Finnish, so I've been wondering if I could help with the code.

I'm pretty newbie to programming, and therefore I just want to know how I could help with minor things - if needed. I've programmed just for 1 year, but I've progressed with insane speed because my university requires insane programming skills. Big Grin I started with Java basics, had a 4-month-course with it and then started with C. 5 months with C and 20 hours work per week really taught me how to make code. Currently I'm studying C++, which is follow-up course from C, and this course is almost as intensive as C was.

With knowledge of C (and C++) there shouldn't be problems to learn QuakeC. However, I have never coded anything "big" and therefore I have to get in touch Xonotic code developement before I can actually start helping.

So, I'm asking you devs, how do I get started - from the zero?

PS. I made this topic also for other people who wants to help this project, they could get vital information from this thread. Smile

I'd also like to help with the code if possible. My Java skills probably won't be of any use here, but I have some knowledge in C as well - that is, on the level of syntax, general keywords, yet my knowing of even the standard libraries is rather sparse.

I can offer C#, some HLSL and a bit C++ Big Grin have to try QuakeC
MY NOOB STATS:
[Image: 788.png]

Most important probably is checking the bug tracker, and tracking down bugs reported there.

Also, unfa had this post idea about making the bots talk. This could be an ideal topic to get started with.
BRLOGENSHFEGLE (core dumped)

The Bot Orchestra is back! | Xoylent Easter Egg | 5bots1piano
My music on Google Play and SoundCloud

Implement this game mode, and more importantly, create monsters and simple AI for them. Like in quake, unreal, etc.