Xonotic is a free, open source (GPL) ultra-fast, first-person shooter


Follow Xonotic on

Post Reply 
netradiant not showing normal and gloss maps
09-26-2011, 12:27 PM
Post: #1
netradiant not showing normal and gloss maps
I'm using the netradiant in the git package of Xonotic and sent the path but all I get in my texture browser are diffuse or color maps and no bump maps, normal maps, or specular maps. All the maps are in my git folder though so I know they are there so I'm wondering if there is a setting I'm missing in Netradiant? Thanks for any help in advance.

SAVAGE
[Image: SavageFinal-1.jpg]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-26-2011, 12:31 PM
Post: #2
RE: netradiant not showing normal and gloss maps
You don't need to see them in radiant. At least that's my understanding. The engine uses the bump/normal/glow/gloss-maps automatically if they exist...

He can talk the talk, but can he caulk the caulk?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-26-2011, 12:36 PM
Post: #3
RE: netradiant not showing normal and gloss maps
(09-26-2011 12:31 PM)lda17h Wrote:  You don't need to see them in radiant. At least that's my understanding. The engine uses the bump/normal/glow/gloss-maps automatically if they exist...

That's my understanding too.

nowego [MLP:FiM]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-26-2011, 01:06 PM (This post was last modified: 09-26-2011 01:07 PM by SavageDogg.)
Post: #4
RE: netradiant not showing normal and gloss maps
Okay, so basically, if I apply the diffuse the corresponding normal and speculars will be applied?
When I was watching tutorials online, they had normal and speculars showing in their texture browsers

SAVAGE
[Image: SavageFinal-1.jpg]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-26-2011, 01:29 PM
Post: #5
RE: netradiant not showing normal and gloss maps
The normal and gloss and such textures are only important for the engine. Since the NetRadiant isn´t able to render instantly there´s no need to see them. And it also would be a big mess...

XonStats profile | Winner of Beginner´s Cup || Q3Map2Wizard || Heavy Metal | Bio Lab | Bloodball | Sunset | Warfare || Cleax - texture set
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-26-2011, 01:46 PM
Post: #6
RE: netradiant not showing normal and gloss maps
Now gtkradiant had a preview(static lights) for realtime lighting for id tech 4 games, idk if it works for xon/nexuiz

[Image: foxtrotcproggry.jpg]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-26-2011, 02:25 PM
Post: #7
RE: netradiant not showing normal and gloss maps
No idea how to enable that light preview EVEN though I know quite a lot Radiant code...

BRLOGENSHFEGLE (core dumped)

The Bot Orchestra is back! | Xoylent Easter Egg | 5bots1piano
My music on Google Play and SoundCloud
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-26-2011, 02:31 PM
Post: #8
RE: netradiant not showing normal and gloss maps
This preview you are talking about TH3FTBOT only works in GtkRadiant 1.6 (also know as ZeroRadiant), NetRadiant is 1.5.

XonStats profile | Winner of Beginner´s Cup || Q3Map2Wizard || Heavy Metal | Bio Lab | Bloodball | Sunset | Warfare || Cleax - texture set
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-26-2011, 03:55 PM
Post: #9
RE: netradiant not showing normal and gloss maps
Thanks guys, you've been very helpful, I'll play around with it some more and see if I have any other questions for ya.

SAVAGE
[Image: SavageFinal-1.jpg]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-27-2011, 01:26 AM (This post was last modified: 09-27-2011 01:28 AM by TH3FTB0T.)
Post: #10
RE: netradiant not showing normal and gloss maps
NO Maddin it does work in gtk 1.5, make a doom3,q4.,, etc map and press "F3". -Edit: works in netradiant too.

[Image: foxtrotcproggry.jpg]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-27-2011, 02:36 AM
Post: #11
RE: netradiant not showing normal and gloss maps
Yes, I just don't know what needs to be done to make this work in Q3A maps too. In NetRadiant, Q3A maps and D3 maps use a totally different editor, from the code base. It will be hard to make features from one work in the other.

But as always, patches for this are very welcome.

BRLOGENSHFEGLE (core dumped)

The Bot Orchestra is back! | Xoylent Easter Egg | 5bots1piano
My music on Google Play and SoundCloud
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-27-2011, 08:34 AM
Post: #12
RE: netradiant not showing normal and gloss maps
But as long as naming conventions match, I can make a diffuse with the appropriate normal and gloss maps and they will be used? Say I made my own texture named "bloody_rock.tga" I can choose it and it will automatically find my "bloody_rock_gloss.tga" and my "bloody_rock_norm.tga" with them being located in the same file of course?

SAVAGE
[Image: SavageFinal-1.jpg]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-27-2011, 01:31 PM
Post: #13
RE: netradiant not showing normal and gloss maps
@SavageDogg: Yes.

@TH3FTBOT: Oh ok, then I jumbled something...

XonStats profile | Winner of Beginner´s Cup || Q3Map2Wizard || Heavy Metal | Bio Lab | Bloodball | Sunset | Warfare || Cleax - texture set
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Nexuiz maps aa 21 799 05-09-2014 10:12 AM
Last Post: aa
  Ingar's NetRadiant packages Ingar 4 1,647 01-12-2014 06:49 AM
Last Post: Garux
  [TLC required] Maps, packs, textures, other stuff in progress I never finished -z- 0 674 12-24-2013 05:08 PM
Last Post: -z-
  How to make a vault door in NetRadiant aa 4 1,110 11-03-2013 08:29 PM
Last Post: tZork
  Compiling NetRadiant Git on Windows Mario 1 1,212 09-02-2013 02:11 PM
Last Post: Ingar
  qer_normalImage texture: sets the normal map for bump mapping kristus 2 1,106 07-20-2013 12:50 PM
Last Post: kristus
Exclamation netRadiant risks dying again - What will mappers do? MirceaKitsune 6 950 01-29-2013 07:42 AM
Last Post: Mr. Bougo
  Blender .maps not working in NetRadiant commodore256 6 2,168 09-09-2012 10:36 AM
Last Post: commodore256
Exclamation Thoughts about netradiant Rudi 12 2,028 08-11-2012 08:16 AM
Last Post: Rudi
  NetRadiant very slow in Windows XP neXus 1 908 07-31-2012 01:06 PM
Last Post: Mr. Bougo

Forum Jump: