Create an account

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Greetings!

Hello everyone.
My name's Dave, but you could call me "D W." I'm a composer/sound engineer looking to make some nifty music and sound for this game. I first heard about Xonotic when GiantBomb.com did some coverage of it. I had checked it out then and really enjoyed it, but didn't get involved in the community back then. Well I'm always looking to broaden portfolio and thought that doing stuff for an open source project would be a lot of fun.

As for my background, I'm a soon to turn 26 recent college grad. I've been writing music since I was 13 (which I now just realized was half a life time ago...) and working with audio since about 16. Currently I'm in that unfortunate situation of working a job to gain some money so I could get into the field that I actually want to work in, but that's mostly proving to be a great source of motivation.

Life-Story aside, I haven't actually started working on any material for Xonotic as of yet but I figured it would be good to get to know the community beforehand. The plan is that this weekend I'll be recording a whole bunch of household objects and from them I'll see what I can come up with. My aim is mostly to get you guys new sounds for things like weapon fire, doors, pickups, explosions, interface stuff, and replacements for the sounds from other games. It will take some time and I'm sure not everything (though I hope at least some of it) will be used.

As for music, you can hear some of my work over on sound cloud: [link]
However that's not really representative of what I would write for Xonotic. I was thinking something more like these:
"Overkill" from Red Asphalt
"Warfare" from Command And Conquer