Create an account

Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 3 Average
I baked my 8800GT and fixed it

It's all true.
It was broken, purple lines on the screen, nvidia software was not talking to it.
It was sad, cold and falling apart.
So I stripped off the heatsink and fan, and the metal strip along the back, fired up oven set to about 190 oc, then went to the shops to get some foil.
Now common wisdom says 200 oc but this oven is fan assited, oddly enough I have never used this oven before as I just moved house.
So I went for about 190.
Foiled a big sturdy oven tray and some foil balls to rest it on, capacitors and chips down, pins and solder up.
Wisdom a la google says 10 minutes, or 8 ... my nerve broke at about 7.
Opened door and switched it off, looking out for exploding capacitors.
Cooled for 20 mins, put it back in pc without fan and heatsink, turned on pc for like 5 seconds and saw no artifacts.
Reattached fan and sinks, got no thermal paste, figured it will be ok for a little while.
It works.
I'm still :o 7 hours later.
Flies will move in soon.
nomnomnomnonmonm:
"the best trolls are indistinguishable from idiots"

Nice dude! That's just obnoxiously amazing! Big Grin
Mapper.

Interesting, I've never heard of this method before. I guess it resolders the connections, though I have no idea why they would deteriorate.
(07-18-2010, 10:59 AM)Flying Steel Wrote: How could anyone with ADHD tell its a high damage weapon if it wasn't a gigantic metal cock fucking the map whenever a player gets within 3 meters of a wall?

[Image: di-712770583645.png]

Heart 
Oh hai Rad!

You lucky funloving toaster you! Thats great! Big Grin
I've heard about five people that have tried to fix their graphiccard this way, two were successful and three, well... not at all. So this makes it 3-3!

Just for the protocol:
Alas, this is a last resort and not something one should attempt when: