Xonotic Forums

Full Version: insult makes us look bad
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4
Lately there seems to have more and more players shouting inappropriate insults as fun. Some get offended and start voting spam.

I myself can easily ignore ignorant comments and just focus on the game play, but I really hesitate recommending Xonotic and Jeff & Julius' server to friends, because such insulting culture really doesn't make Xonotic and its player base, including me, look good.

I would probably mute/ban the players if they misbehave on my server (and if I happen to be on), but that's really not a good solution (besides, I'm a lazy admin). I'd rather for our community to build a healthier and friendlier culture, to be more inclusive and welcoming, and thus become more sustainable.

However, I'm not quite sure how such messages can get across.

Thoughts?
If it becomes a problem just disable chat from the HUD editor. That is all you can really do for now.
(04-21-2016, 08:21 PM)SPLAT Wrote: [ -> ]If it becomes a problem just disable chat from the HUD editor. That is all you can really do for now.

Well, it's how the community looks to new players that concerns me; or more of what the community is growing into.
I left yesterday on Jeff & Julius's server the person got me banned there was there and Jeff hasn't banned him since August.
You can still recommend Xonotic and not recommend this server respectively suggest 'better' servers.

Apparantly Jeffs server is favourited by this kind of clientele, so it's up to him to take care of this or not.

I can only speak for WTWRP/pacman servers: We care about the playing experience. Therefore we monitor the server chat and if it is necessary we hand out kicks or bans. If you have trouble there, highlight packer or me by typing our nicks.