Xonotic Forums
[SOLVED] Need Hellp to stop script kiddies..... - Printable Version

+- Xonotic Forums (https://forums.xonotic.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forums.xonotic.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: Xonotic - Help & Troubleshooting (https://forums.xonotic.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Thread: [SOLVED] Need Hellp to stop script kiddies..... (/showthread.php?tid=3583)

Pages: 1 2

Need Hellp to stop script kiddies..... - kidx - 10-12-2012

I have had my admin Rcon hacked on Nexuiz Classic and Xonotic, What are some commands i can add to my configs to fight against Script kiddies hacking rcon and taking over servers. I am new to this admin expolit and would to try to fix it so we can go on about gaming thanks.

RE: Need Hellp to stop script kiddies..... - Mr. Bougo - 10-12-2012

Code:
rcon_password <an actually good password for once>
(replace <an actually good password for once> with an actually good password, for once)

RE: Need Hellp to stop script kiddies..... - kidx - 10-14-2012

thats saying alot when all they do is vote master and this is ESK doing it so yea how can i stop master vote and stuff?

RE: Need Hellp to stop script kiddies..... - Mr. Bougo - 10-15-2012

Haha.

Master is NOT rcon, and voting master is NOT being a "script kiddie" or "hacking" or an "exploit", it's calling a vote and getting it accepted. You authorized this when you went through your server.cfg file to review the available settings and brushed over this.

Now if you'll have a look in your server.cfg, you will notice that there is this line:
Code:
//sv_vote_master 1      // 0 will disable voting to become master, good if you prefer to use the master password instead
Just uncomment it (remove the two // before sv_vote_master at the beginning of the line) and change the 1 to 0. There you go.

RE: Need Hellp to stop script kiddies..... - kidx - 10-15-2012