Xonotic Forums
[SOLVED] Little issue concerning video - Printable Version

+- Xonotic Forums (https://forums.xonotic.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forums.xonotic.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: Xonotic - Help & Troubleshooting (https://forums.xonotic.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Thread: [SOLVED] Little issue concerning video (/showthread.php?tid=4396)

Little issue concerning video - Mk - 08-17-2013

Hey everyone, I'm new to this game.
I downloaded it just yesterday, but here comes my first issue: when I run it, the game starts but the video doesn't. I mean, I can hear the menu music in background and so on, but my screen is completely black, and even if I try to run task manager ("summon your eon for a helping hand") it keeps that way and I still don't see shit.
Any suggestions? I tried to update my video card driver but the problem remains unsolved. It's not the first time this happens to me, though... some (few) games just seem to work bad on my pc (yes audio, no video) and I don't know why.

Any help is really appreciated

RE: Little issue concerning video - Mr. Bougo - 08-17-2013

You might be running in fullscreen in an unsupported video mode. You should try running the game without fullscreen.

What is your operating system? I can walk you through disabling fullscreen.

RE: Little issue concerning video - Mk - 08-17-2013

(08-17-2013, 09:48 AM)Mr. Bougo Wrote: You might be running in fullscreen in an unsupported video mode. You should try running the game without fullscreen.

What is your operating system? I can walk you through disabling fullscreen.

Oh, I forgot to mention my operating system. Sorry, my bad. Anyway, it's windows 7

Okay. Create a shortcut to the xonotic executable, right-click it and go into properties.

In there, you want to change the "target" to add +vid_fullscreen 0 to it. Look at the screenshot below, you want to have +vid_fullscreen 0 in place of -nohome (I'm recycling screenshots Tongue)

[Image: FCtzX.png]