Xonotic Forums
[SOLVED] compiling and runing Xonotic on a mac - Printable Version

+- Xonotic Forums (https://forums.xonotic.org)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forums.xonotic.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: Xonotic - Help & Troubleshooting (https://forums.xonotic.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Thread: [SOLVED] compiling and runing Xonotic on a mac (/showthread.php?tid=804)



compiling and runing Xonotic on a mac - tangerian - 08-10-2010

i can't figure out how to do it Huh


RE: compiling and runing Xonotic on a mac - tangerian - 08-10-2010

the error is


The main repo is not xonotic.git, what have you done?


any help?


RE: compiling and runing Xonotic on a mac - PGP_Qz - 09-09-2010

hello there,

I manage to get the git and I update it. (just follow the instructions here : http://dev.xonotic.org/projects/3/wiki/Repository_Access#Linux )

But when i try to compile it ("./all compile")

Got this error : Bab CPU type in executable
Output :
Code:
$ ./all compile
Repository . enabled because it already exists
Repository data/xonotic-data.pk3dir enabled because it already exists
Repository data/xonotic-maps.pk3dir enabled because it already exists
Repository data/xonotic-music.pk3dir enabled because it already exists
Repository data/xonotic-nexcompat.pk3dir disabled by default, create data/xonotic-nexcompat.pk3dir.yes to enable
Repository mediasource disabled by default, create mediasource.yes to enable
Repository darkplaces enabled because it already exists
Repository fteqcc enabled because it already exists
Repository div0-gittools disabled by default, create div0-gittools.yes to enable
Repository netradiant enabled because it already exists
+ cd /Users/Qz/Documents/xonotic/xonotic/fteqcc
+ make
make USEGUI_CFLAGS="" R_qcc
gcc -Wall -ggdb  -o fteqcc.bin -O3 -s qccmain.o qcc_pr_comp.o qcc_pr_lex.o qcctui.o comprout.o hash.o qcc_cmdlib.o qcd_main.o
ld: warning: option -s is obsolete and being ignored
+ cd /Users/Qz/Documents/xonotic/xonotic/data/xonotic-data.pk3dir
+ make FTEQCC=/Users/Qz/Documents/xonotic/xonotic/fteqcc/fteqcc.bin
[ "" = "" ] || [ "" = "1" ]
[ "" = "1" ] || { DO_NOT_RUN_MAKE=1 sh update-cvarcount.sh; }
/bin/sh: /usr/bin/sh: Bad CPU type in executable
make: *** [update-cvarcount] Error 126
I just follow the wiki. I did something wrong ? Is my gcc bad ?
I'm on macos 10.6, intel core2duo.

Thanks for replying.

ha, and Hi to all the Old Nexuiz Bastard here =) Heart
and still sorry for my bad english...


RE: compiling and runing Xonotic on a mac - Mr. Bougo - 09-25-2010

Qz: from the #xonotic irc channel on freenode:
Quote:<divVerent> MrBougo: broken OS X install
<divVerent> [ "" = "1" ] || { DO_NOT_RUN_MAKE=1 sh update-cvarcount.sh; }
<divVerent> /bin/sh: /usr/bin/sh: Bad CPU type in executable
<divVerent> if "sh" does not work, there is a SERIOUS problem
<divVerent> /usr/bin/sh shouldn't even exist
<divVerent> because it goes in /bin



RE: compiling and runing Xonotic on a mac - GreEn`mArine - 09-25-2010

Why do you guys even call shell scripts that way (sh script.sh) instead of ./script.sh? Or is that not in option in scripts?


RE: compiling and runing Xonotic on a mac - Mr. Bougo - 09-25-2010

To use the right interpreter, I guess! The shebang line in the script contains a full path; if for some reason the user has a sh that has a higher priority in his $PATH than the standard one, it's probably better to use the $PATH one.
(i.e. #!/bin/sh in the script will make ./script.sh call /bin/sh script.sh, whereas sh script.sh will use whatever sh is found first)

Another general reason to use sh script.sh is that it will work when the shebang line is absent or the executable bit isn't set, both of which would make ./script.sh fail.


RE: compiling and runing Xonotic on a mac - Dokujisan - 09-25-2010

I learned something new to day.


RE: compiling and runing Xonotic on a mac - PGP_Qz - 09-25-2010

Ok, what I can do to manage the compile process ?
I'm bad in compiling stuff : I work on OSX. All the bashes are invisible.

What do you think if I import the project in XCode to compile it ? does it can work ?

I guess, if I can't compile it, nobody can't, because OSX environement are all the same.
If someone manage to make the .app, he should modifie the wiki page for compiling xono on mac.

I remember that Esteel got a mac and I saw that he test some versions of nexuiz for mac. Is he in the xonotic team ?

(I hope you will understand my franglish... Sorry)


RE: compiling and runing Xonotic on a mac - Mr. Bougo - 09-25-2010

You should join the #xonotic irc channel on freenode if you're still having problems... Basically you seem to have a broken sh binary in /usr/bin, I have no idea where it comes from.


RE: compiling and runing Xonotic on a mac - PGP_Qz - 09-25-2010

Ok thanks for the help Mr. Bougo.
I'll join #xonotic.

But that strange, I've managed to compile some applications on my system. The problem may be Darwin. (Darwin used to build Unix applications on OSX).

For infos my spec :
- Mac OS X Version 10.6.4 (Macbook Pro)
- Proc : 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo

Mac OSX infos :
- Shells : bash, csh, tcsh, ksh, zch, tclsh
- OSX opensource Documentation (Darwin) : http://developer.apple.com/opensource/index.html

If someone manage to compile xono on a mac. Help would be appreciated.


RE: compiling and runing Xonotic on a mac - PGP_Qz - 09-26-2010

The problem is resolved thanks to nice people on IRC @ #xonotic

It come from the iphone's SDK that change PATH variable.
Just write
Code:
export PATH=/usr/bin/sh:/bin/sh:$PATH
in terminal.

Compile will be fine.

Thanks.