Create an account

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Does anybody have any recent experience with ATI on Linux?

The reason I'm asking is because my video card has been dying (at one point it had one of NVIDIA's three malicious drivers for a while, which is probably what triggered it's downward spiral) for the last year or so and looks like it may finally blow up. I really want to ditch Nvidia and their bad price to performance ratio cards not to mention drivers that burn stuff up. The problem is the last time I owned an ATI card (this was before AMD bought them) the thing was an absolute piece of crap that would crash constantly under Windows and wouldn't really handle anything 3D under Linux with it's official driver. Does ATI still suck under Linux, or has AMD turned them around?

I have some ATI Linux experience. What Distro are you using?

If you are using a distro that supports proprietary drivers, you can use the FGLRX driver. It will run most games smoothly, especially if you have a good card.

This is a nice ATI card

So a decent card on a distro that supports proprietary drivers (Ubuntu, etc.) won't have much issue then? Ever try running any games under WINE with the card you have?

btw I plan on stepping up from a 1GB Geforce 9800GTX and have been looking at these:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...-_-Product

Yes, I've run Anarchy Online through wine, but that's it. That product you listed should run a lot of games smoothly, so it looks like you're good.

Alright cool. Thanks, looks like my system will be an all AMD system after my current card blows up.

I have a Radeon HD5850 and I use it with Ubuntu 10.04 and AMD proprietary driver. Games run smoothly on my screen at 1920x1080: I have to say that I haven't tried Xonotic yet but Nexuiz (and OpenArena, AlienArena and Sauerbraten) run perfectly.
Ciao Smile
Massimo

01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RS780M/RS780MN [Radeon HD 3200 Graphics]