Create an account

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 1 Average
domination aspect in 1v1

So here is a thought I had for quite a long time. I just would like to have other witnessings.

When I started playing in 1v1 several months ago, I was most often totally raped by good/top players.
I always lost with a score of the form N - 0, with N arbitrary large positive integer.
So I just told myself: ok, there is a pretty simple explanation: I just suck hard.

Several months later, I still lose N - 0 against top players (did you see I don't mention good players Tongue ?).
The fact is: against top players, scores had remained the same, eventhough i'm a better dueler now.

With certain players (waldi, dim, ...), it even does not make sense to play in F4 mode. For me, it's a nightmare. For them, it's just boring.
But, in warmup mode, everybody has much more fun, and it's immediately way more balanced (maybe also because it's less competitive that way).

This makes me feel that the domination aspect in 1v1 is maybe not optimally tuned.
More precisely, it seems that the score doesn't traduce in a continuous manner the skill gap between opponents. Which is a bit frustrating.
As compared, 1v1 Clan Arena is generally more interesting and balanced.

Here I'm not trying to overcome a problem, I just would like to know if some of you think that there is a problem.
Fat.bot.Slim

Personally, I don't. The one or two frags I get in matches against waldi or dim are way more rewarding than frags in other games, even if equaled out by my obligatory suicides.
My Xonstats Profile
Latest track on soundcloud: Farewell - to a better Place (piano improvisation)
New to Xonotic? Check out the Newbie Corner!

There is no problem, it's just a big divide in skill difference - much more then you realise.