Create an account

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Where are the new weapon models?

Before I start my actual post, I want to apogolize this kind of "whining" even though I'm not a developer/modeller and I cannot help anything in this case... I'm just a normal guy who wants some action. Tongue

Allright. Nex/Xon/whatever gun has a new awesome model and appearance. Actually, it has 2 different models (Oblivion's and Bommel's) and both of them are damn nice. However, all the other weapons have same models they used to have in Nexuiz and some of them are a bit "ugly" in some way (okay, not ugly, but dull). Those 2 Xon models were published ages ago, but I haven't seen any actual activity on other weapons. Will Xonotic have new weapon models, or will Xonotic use the Nexuiz ones? One of the main points of Xonotic is to replace old low-quality textures and models with new ones, is this going to happen with all weapons?

Good-looking weapon models are essential, because the weapon which you're carrying takes a great part of player's view and therefore gives a some kind of "graphical pleasure". If the weapon model is dull, it is often generalised on the overall graphics. That's why weapons should look damn nice, IMO.

I'm just wondering this, because people have done so much work on maps and other stuff, but where are the weapons?

this is something that has been irking me. I have several weapon models that are close to being ready, however there is no one to texture them, and a lot of the devs seem quite content with the ones we have.

I plan on making models for all of the weapons, however it won't do any good unless we can find someone who can texture them. (properly)
Master of mysterious geometries

Imgur Gallery