Create an account

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Want to start helping with Xonotic code

So I'm a beginning C programmer, but not a beginning programmer. I've been studying C for a while and I'm at the point where I think I can contribute to Xonotic in a (hopefully) useful way. I just finished this game as practice/experience coding in C:

http://www.jaynix.dyndns.org/files/SpacePong.zip
(Compiled for 32/64-bit Linux and Windows 32-bit. Source included.)

[Image: screenshotspacepong4.png]

Here's another example of my work: http://www.treeofvoices.dyndns.org

/shameless self promotion

I just had a few questions, about Git and some things to clear up first.

I'm not sure I understand how branching works/how I should go about editing/testing my code. Do I just create a new branch and start editing any of the the .C files and recompile to test? Is there any way I can accidentally fuck someone elses work up doing this (I'd like to avoid that)? Any other pointers/tips/things I should know/useful links you could throw at me to get me pointed in the right direction for making useful contributions? I'm new to open source/working on code that isn't my own :p

C code is useful for the engine, darkplaces.
On IRC go to irc.anynet.org channel #darkplaces

(03-19-2011, 12:24 AM)JayWalker Wrote: I'm not sure I understand how branching works/how I should go about editing/testing my code. Do I just create a new branch and start editing any of the the .C files and recompile to test?
Exactly.

(03-19-2011, 12:24 AM)JayWalker Wrote: Is there any way I can accidentally fuck someone elses work up doing this (I'd like to avoid that)?
As long as you're making changes in your own branch, no.
Links to my: SoundCloud and bandcamp accounts

In this thread there are some helpful links and tipps, otherwise visit some IRC channels or read in the wiki Smile