Create an account

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
[SOLVED] Disabling gore MASSIVELY increases Fps!

I've been playing Xonotic for many months now. Since the very first release I've been experiencing many slowdowns. I knew it wasn't my hardware (I have an Asus Ares, i7 process, etc). So, I thought, it must be bad coding or problems within the engine. I tried custom configs, a load of different combinations in the settings, Gboost (an application that frees up memory space and reduces CPU usage), but none of them worked.

It was only until today, when I disabled gibs, that I got an IMMENSE increase in Fps! I know it makes gameplay less realistic, but the game is sooooo much smoother!

I would encourage anyone who gets sudden slowdowns to disable gibs in the 'Player Setup' tab.

Cam

PS Couldn't someone make the gore less power hungry?

Edit: 11-09-11
Do not use the 'decals on models' setting with gibs enabled. Normal decals are fine, but the ‘decals on models’ setting doesn’t work well with gibs!

odd. gibs don't cause any slowdowns for me.
Master of mysterious geometries

Imgur Gallery

Is it the gibs or the blood particles and decals they cause? Can you try disabling particles?

It's the gibs, the gory gibs, everybody loves gibs, especially bloody gory gibs squirting streams of juicy tofu everywhere.

* Spaceman needs more protein rich vege-gibs

Well, I think it might be that my Gibs were set to maximum... I must say that they were very excessive and exploded violently! I will muck around with the particle/gib settings to find the real cause(s) of the slowdowns tomorrow (it's getting late here!)

@Spaceman, are you saying that the gibs do cause slowdowns? Also @theShadow, what settings do you have?

Gibs have caused slowdowns since Nexuiz. I've always disabled gibs and turned up the blood particles instead. Running on AMD Phenom II x6 1100T with 8gb DDR3 and Radeon HD 6870 1gb, and it still slows me down to amazingly unplayable levels Tongue.