Create an account

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
[SUGGESTION] Suggestion: Depth of field

This is a suggestion regarding the visual aesthetic of the game.

The suggestion is to incorporate depth of field into the player's view. That is, having a blur on the weapon being held.

This can be seen in various games of the last generation (and in photography, of course). It can add a nice touch of subtlety. The player's focus is on the action ahead anyway (or should be), and this is also the way the human eye functions. It's not about being more 'realistic' -- Xonotic is far from that regardless. It's just about being more aesthetically pleasing, and mimicking the way the eye sees.

For *true* depth of field, it follows that there would also be blurring of things in the distance. Or, if you really wanted to get accurate, de-blur only the plane of distance beneath the player's aimer.

I'm no programmer, so I don't know how much work (or reworking) this would involve. But it would be nice to see in a next-gen game such as this. And it's something that I don't think will go 'out of style'.

Xonotic is a visually beautiful game. I only wish to see it become increasingly so, and to be on level with the next generation of video game visuals.

(See attached samples)

Before:

After:

But where do you put the focal plane? Or do you want all players to be myopic?

(I honestly don't know how DOF is done in other games, is it always visible?)

I think this would work better as a screenshot only function?

Not during normal gameplay... a subtle vignette would work better in my opinion..
As would a subtle motion blur (very tiny amount).

As above poster said never seen the DOF effect applied anywhere during normal gameplay. I personally think It would be confusing.
[Image: 12766.png]
Sucks at weapons