Create an account

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
[SOLVED] A few questions regarding the configuration language

Hello!

Today I was playing with the game configuration/console, I've got most of the reference for the syntax and command from "Console Tips & Tricks".

Does the language used by the configuration have a name? Is there some actual documentation for it?

I've noticed that variables act weirdly inside aliases, it appears that they are not updated as soon as a new value is assigned to them.
The following code demonstrates that:
Code:
alias test1 "set param $1; echo $1 - $param;";
Calling test1 with some parameter will reveal that $param keeps old values, while $1 is correct.
I've found that this can be solved in the following way:
Code:
alias test2a "echo $1 - $param;";
alias test2 "set param $1; test2a $1";
It seems weird enough to me.
I'm new to this so maybe I'm not using set properly, is there some other way to have (local) variables?

Hi! Thanks for your interest in the Xonotic console, I think it's wonderful to play with.

First of all, there is no name for the language. It's very generic and doesn't have a lot of features in itself.

The behavior you describe is nothing surprising once you know how the variable expansion is done: the variables are expanded for the entire compound command (i.e. for all the commands separated by semicolons) before it is interpreted. If we imagine that we set $param to "bar" before calling your alias as "test1 foo", the resulting command is
Code:
set param foo; echo foo - bar;
The workaround you suggest is the proper way to get the behaviour you want: $param is expanded in test2a only after it is set by test2.

Thanks for the info.

I've been able to recreate some higher level control structure so I guess it's Turing complete at least.

I have a few more questions though.

Is it possible to make a defition of an alias spread across multiple lines?
Something like the following does not seem to work:
Code: