Create an account

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Organising LAN party (11th April in France)

Hello

In a project of opening a free-software gaming room I'm starting by organizing some LAN parties (still I'm just beginning). There's an arcade room in my town with a small top-performance PC zone aware of my projects and I'll try to create some events there.

I know Xonotic is not that much well-known and it's not tomorrow that I'll get 64 players willing to play Xonotic instead of the latest UT or other non-free games but a long evening of 6-8 people happily fragging in front of each other seems a good start.

Apart from communication (friends, local flyers, free-software newsgroups...) the big question is how to attract and welcome people not knowing the game, make them enjoy it and grow up a small community to explore the best part of the game on the long run by avoiding frustration of "not doing anything good".

Here is how I see it for the first time as I don't think there will be much regular players.
  • Ask the players before starting if they know the game and how is their skill
  • Make two groups for the first games: newbies and regular players
  • For the first hour or so the newbies group will play some special games with explanations (if there's not enough regular player they can join but don't kill anyone at sight, like they need to wait the other to fire 5 times to fire once)
  • After that the two groups are merged for free for all or mixed teams

Say the two first games will be deathmatch with NIX mutator to get familiar with the weapons and explain them (first/secondary shot, guided rockets, reverse spread for crylink, explosion for electro...), explain bunny hopping on the second game.

Then a few deathmatches with weapons always available to get to know some maps a little. After one or two games it will be time to reassign laser shortcut and try some laser jump (some may start reassigning all weapons).