Create an account

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
A.I

Greetings!

I'm a master degree student in mathematics and I've been working on Artificial Intelligence for the last couple of months. I'll be doing my master degree thesis on this matter.

One of my main objective is applied to video games bots. I want to make their behaviors feel more human-like. I'm mainly working on a algorithm to gives A.I the ability to estimate to position of his opponent a human-like way be using his general game knowledge and some short-term memory of his opponent behaviors. Since I'm no programmer, I planned to use open source game to test my new A.I., and I tough Xonotic might be the thing I need. Of course, if things goes according to plan, these new A.I would be strong opponent for good FPS player, instead of the typical dumb bot you see in most FPS. This would be beneficial for FPS gamer granting them more fun playing against A.I .

I was wondering if someone would be kind enough to help me finding where are the A.I mechanics inside the source code.

Any help would be much appriciated.

Heya! I've never had a look at the AI code personally, so I don't think I can be of much help. What I can tell you is that we don't have many active devs working on the AI these days... Mario left very recently to focus on real life stuff, and I haven't seen Mand1nga in a looong time. That makes relevant devs (or really any dev at all currently) kind of hard to reach.

Anyway, I can tell you this much: our game logic is coded in QuakeC (also called QC), very much like Quake 1. This code interfaces with the engine, which is written in C. As far as I can tell, this means you'll have to use QC for the bots.

I suppose it's best that you set up a standard build environment by downloading the sources from the git repository. Hopefully you have enough bandwidth and disk space to spare. This page might be outdated but the ideas still apply: repository access.