Create an account

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
An intro, a noob story, and some askance

Hi folks.

I'm new to this forum, and I've been playing Xonotic since last spring, and before that I hadn't played shooters much.

It seems that currently I am in the process of migration between two categories, from "Absolute Noob" to "Still Noob 'cause Can't Learn".

So I think it's the right time for me to share some Valuable Noob Feedback before I've forgotten all the Genuine Noob Experience ː)

In this issue:

A STORY ABOUT A NEWBIE DISCOVERING XONOTIC

The beginning of the story is trite, you must have heard it already: "There's not enough games on Linux". That's basically why I tried all the shooters available through the Ubuntu repos, although shooters weren't my favorite genre. None interested me, and I didn't search for more info. Until at some point (perhaps after upgrading Ubuntu to 12.04, not sure now) I saw a new icon in the Games section, labelled "Nexuiz". I tried it, and it was different. I completed the whole local campaign suite, and started to watch people playing on open servers. And even to play against humans myself. And to search the web for tips.

I think I saw a couple mentions of Xonotic on some forums, at that point. Nothing to get excited about. However, search results were too often spammed by discussions of the *other* Nexuiz, so I began to search for game-specific terms without the name of the game itself: "minsta", "grappling hook", "crylink" and the like. And... found Halogene's Newbie Corner on *this* site. I understood that it was about a fork, and much of the info could be relevant; I read it attentively, twice, still thinking about Nexuiz and checking how the tips worked there. It took me a couple more days to digest some news: Nexuiz Classic is essentially a fossil, and the living-and-kicking beast is called Xonotic now.