Create an account

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
[SUGGESTION] New Asian Characters

Hi all,

I'm new to the game, and I am very impressed by the work by the developers and artists, and the culture by the community.

As a native speaker of Chinese who learned calligraphy as a kid, I'd like to make a suggestion on the two characters found in the game (force) and 寿 (long life).

It seems that the two characters are meant to be Japanese or simplified Chinese, since both languages have these two characters. However, there's some nuance, and I'll make my suggestion accordingly.

1. I suggest using the Traditional Chinese version of 壽 instead of its simplified (or modern) counterpart 寿.

Most calligraphers write traditional Chinese characters, including calligraphers in China (who use simplified Chinese in their daily life), and even those in calligraphy competition held in Japan. Traditional Chinese in calligraphy represents a long history of aesthetics and tradition. I believe the goal here is to create a fusion of the future and the ancient tradition.

If you think 壽 has too many strokes, 生 (to generate life) is another alternative.

2. The floating 力 in the game has two fonts. Please see the attached picture. One is the actual floating item in the game world (the one on the top), and the other is the one on the HUD (the one on the bottom).

If you look at the two brush stokes of the one on the bottom, they both touch the base line. The one on the top, however, has two strokes of very different lengths -- the left stroke is significantly shorter.

When a character is presented on their own, calligraphers usually make them as balanced as possible for stability. This is the case of the 力 on the bottom.