Create an account

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
insult makes us look bad

So just as a follow-up to the discussion on "interestingly named servers" that cropped up here, I started playing this game pretty much solely because of that server. There was actually a guarantee that I wouldn't have to play instagib, and it wasn't always going to be duel. Oddly enough, I've found "mean" players in equal parts from the threads and from other servers, with the overall impact being quite minimal. The worst thing, to an outsider, is probably the vulgar speech, but taken in context it's just banter.

On the flip side, I myself have gone out of my way to give new players advice (that's new players to Xonotic as a whole and new players to non-instagib modes) using the skillsets I've learned from CPM and practiced in there and in Reflex. The thread itself links to Halogene's guide, and people try to give advice when applicable

I'd personally be more concerned about the idea of critiquing the pedigree of newcomers than a sudden wave of toxicity from what is, to my knowledge, a fairly insular server.

I also haven't run into anyone who I think needs to be silenced entirely, but easy to access local mute is always a good function to have

(07-17-2016, 08:49 AM)Fuzsion Wrote: I've been playing Xonotic for a while, mostly lurking on forums and playing occasionally, but I have noticed and influx of the toxicity in Xon, not necessarily in forums, but in game, such as the new interestingly named servers cropping up, and the influx of "kill yourself" comments in chat

And sadly, I think i know what the issue is.
There have been multiple threads on both 8chan /v/ and 4chan /v/, talking about Xonotic, all of which the threads have been quite popular,, which in a sense is good, but considering that both places are notorious for toxicity; it's not a very good thing.

The children should just leave their toxicity in those places, not in game.