Create an account

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Tutorial video for absolute newbies

Hi all,

I've helped a few new players by demonstrating how different weapons work, how bunny hops are faster than walking, what the mega health looks like, how to jump with blaster, etc. Then I wondered why we don't already have some tutorial video?

A quick search gave me this list of tutorials. I especially like the shotgun one:

Halogene's guide is beyond wonderful, but I feel there's still a gap we need to fill. Halogene's guide is for those who already like the game enough to learn more, and for those who are dedicated enough to learn by reading. For total newbies, I think we need a short video that covers only the essentials, such as:
  • how to join a game?
  • how to vote in game
  • wasd and jump
  • bunny hop
  • how to collect items/weapons
  • how to shoot and switch weapons
  • what are health and shields
  • where to learn more

Do we already have such a video? Any other questions you think should be covered?

Blaster Jumping should be covered as you mentioned in the beginning, and essentials like devastator guiding and remote detonation (as those are features that are easy to explain and can be used to stirr interest in other not-so-bleeding-obvious features). You might also explain the electro combo as it is very suitable to show off in a tutorial due to the impressive WOOSH effect. Default chat key and basic netiquette of Xonotic community could be mentioned too. We could make it a "Xonotic for Dummies" video Xo]
My Xonstats Profile
Latest track on soundcloud: Farewell - to a better Place (piano improvisation)
New to Xonotic? Check out the Newbie Corner!

I was possibly planning on making a series like this in depth. Figures someone would beat my lazy ass to the punch Big Grin
[Image: 38443.png]

If you guys make the clips, I'd be happy to contribute my voice if that helps!
asyyy^ | are you releated to chuck norris?