Create an account

Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 3 Average
New Language for the spoken parts.

Since Nexuiz/Quake/Xonotic has such a limited vocabulary, I think it wouldnt be hard to come up with our own language for the spoken notifications. After spending years abroad, its amazing how many languages there are and more interestingly, how quickly people learn.

I am thinking with the image makeover that's going on for Xonotic, why couldnt the voices be re-recorded and adapted to a japanese-like language where words were just one syllable each and simple sentences could be strung out of these words.

for lulz, check out this to see where i'm coming from:
[Image: tumblr_kwmltitSeL1qa7thno1_500.jpg]

Nexuiz Ninjas is definitely a strong theme to run I think, so cheers on that aesthetic choice.

I would love it if xonotic was talking at me in a new language, it could add to the 'alien' atmosphere of the game I think. Even more, I am an audio engineer so I'm willing to put my foot where my mouth is.

Thanks for taking the time to read this.

[Image: perfume-game-cd.jpg]

The problem is that even less people would understand the announcer messages...
BRLOGENSHFEGLE (core dumped)

The Bot Orchestra is back! | Xoylent Easter Egg | 5bots1piano
My music on Google Play and SoundCloud

Yes, it is critical that people understand what the announcer is saying.
New voices would be great though, we are missing a lot of player voices.
(07-18-2010, 10:59 AM)Flying Steel Wrote: How could anyone with ADHD tell its a high damage weapon if it wasn't a gigantic metal cock fucking the map whenever a player gets within 3 meters of a wall?

[Image: di-712770583645.png]

Wouldn't this make playing the game really confusing? Undecided Especially in CTF games where there's a lot of announcements.
[Image: 370.png] AKA [~] John Smith on Nexuiz

I however can imagine such voice messages in ambient sounds, e.g. from computer panels. Could hide a hidden message that way Tongue