Create an account


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
How to change server cfg on modified server

#1
I'm trying to host a server that I've modified from the gitlabs repo, and though I know you run it using ./all run dedicated how do I specify my server config? I've tried changing the server.cfg that's in the server folder, and I've tried moving it to data as you would with a regular server. 
What's the normal process for doing this?
Reply

#2
./all run dedicated expects server config in the same directory as release or autobuild (~/.xonotic/data/server.cfg on linux). It's generally not a good idea to change config files inside the source directory (data/xonotic-data.pk3dir).
Reply

#3
(04-16-2019, 10:56 AM)veecho Wrote: I'm trying to host a server that I've modified from the gitlabs repo, and though I know you run it using ./all run dedicated how do I specify my server config? I've tried changing the server.cfg that's in the server folder, and I've tried moving it to data as you would with a regular server. 
What's the normal process for doing this?

You can assign your data folder with "-game data_directory". Mine looks somewhat like this:

Code:
./all run dedicated -sessionid bfgfun -game /home/xonotic/.xonotic/data.bfgfun -game /home/xonotic/additional_maps

So my /home/xonotic/.xonotic looks like this:

Code:
.xonotic/lock.bfgfun
.xonotic/data.bfgfun
.xonotic/data.bfgfun/data/
.xonotic/data.bfgfun/data/........... omit .......
.xonotic/data.bfgfun/curl_urls.txt
.xonotic/data.bfgfun/post-config.cfg
.xonotic/data.bfgfun/server.cfg
.xonotic/data.bfgfun/cvars_servername.txt
.xonotic/data.bfgfun/darkplaces_history.txt
.xonotic/key_0-public-fp.bfgfun.txt
.xonotic/key_0.d0si.bfgfun

My actual setup is a bit more complicated since I run more than one server (one public, one for testing and private games), but with the "-game" option, you can easily assign which folder to find your cfg files.
Reply

#4
Thanks for taking the time to help me out!
Right now I'm keeping my server.cfg file in ~/.xonotic/data. When I ran
Code:
./all run dedicated -game ~/.xonotic/data
I got the error 

Code:
Quake Error: Nasty -game name rejected: /home/veecho/.xonotic/data 
Any clue what that means? I've tried changing the directory but it always pops up. Is there some sort of preferred location/naming scheme?
Reply

#5
(04-23-2019, 05:02 PM)veecho Wrote: Thanks for taking the time to help me out!
Right now I'm keeping my server.cfg file in ~/.xonotic/data. When I ran
Code:
./all run dedicated -game ~/.xonotic/data
I got the error 

Code:
Quake Error: Nasty -game name rejected: /home/veecho/.xonotic/data 
Any clue what that means? I've tried changing the directory but it always pops up. Is there some sort of preferred location/naming scheme?

Sorry -- I wrote that from my memory. The game directories should be under ~/.xonotic and you only give relative path, i.e. in your case:


Code:
./all run dedicated -game data

~/.xonotic is the default parent folder, and is assumed. I believe you can change it but I never bothered with changing it.
Reply



Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
Big Grin Is it possible to change bot names from console, without changing bots.txt? YottaMxt 0 1,501 11-12-2022, 07:57 PM
Last Post: YottaMxt
  [SOLVED] Opensuse Leap 15.1 and Server.cfg ldegroot 2 2,515 08-01-2019, 02:52 PM
Last Post: ldegroot
  [NEED HELP] Change Player Speed, and Disable Bunny Hops 3agle427 1 2,327 12-29-2018, 09:38 AM
Last Post: 3agle427
  [NEED HELP] Change Teamplay Colors from Red vs Blue Antares* 0 2,718 04-12-2018, 07:44 PM
Last Post: Antares*
  How to change game to instagib through client? sgtsob 2 4,573 11-01-2016, 12:31 AM
Last Post: sgtsob
  When using ./all run dedicated multiple instance different cfg file end user 1 3,028 04-29-2013, 01:19 AM
Last Post: Mr. Bougo
  How can I change the Weapon Damage? kidx 24 19,367 07-04-2012, 04:59 AM
Last Post: Mr. Bougo
  How to change gametype inside server without having to reset. neXus 2 7,631 04-18-2012, 06:32 AM
Last Post: neXus
  [SOLVED] server.cfg: bind returned error: Address already in use nonenone 10 12,961 04-12-2012, 05:19 PM
Last Post: nonenone
  Failed to read CFG file Griff 11 10,285 04-08-2012, 01:56 PM
Last Post: Griff

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)

Forum software by © MyBB original theme © iAndrew 2016, remixed by -z-