Create an account

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
A Linux noob that wants to contribute

Hi everyone, 
I am an open source enthusiast and a beginner Linux game developer. Apologies for the upcoming long rant lol

I fully switched to Linux about 6 months ago after being a windows user for my entire life and am not looking back. I love the freedom that comes with Linux and the amazing helpful community especially on Reddit.

I found out about Xonotic from the "Unvanquished: Building a community as a service" talk by Thomas Debesse in the latest Debian MiniDebConf Gaming Edition conference.

I played both Xonotic and Unvanquished for a while and I am still discovering open source games available on Linux. To my surprise I entered a whole new world that I didn't know existed and can't be more impressed.

Being more of a tinkerer than a gamer , I dipped my hands into the wikis of opensource games trying to contribute or get involved in some way. I have some basic knowledge of c/c++ and python , as well as some basic blender skills.

As Reddit was my inlet into Linux and Linux gaming , I spent my time browsing for Linux gamedev content only to be met with mostly outdated or scattered content if any existed at all. This issue isn't just in Reddit but across all the internet. And then I remembered what Thomas Debesse mentioned at the talk:

"We can’t underestimate the importance of being close to communities. I just discovered this month another somewhat alive XreaL-based project. A Kingpin remake over XreaL. I’m among the ones having the deepest knowledge about all those forks but I missed this one for a decade. Less than two weeks after having talked for the first time with one of the remaining hard-dying contributors he helped us to fix an issue for our upcoming release. It took me 10 years to meet this community, I hope we can do more things together."