Create an account

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
[SOLVED] Mapping: Move permeable wall upon trigger

I'm new to mapping and trying get a "forcefield-style" effect (right now: a brush textured with effects_forcefield/forcefield1_a) to move linearly upon activation of a trigger. This effect should be permeable for players, so I've made the brush into a func_clientillusionary entity. From what I understand, the standard way of getting it to move is to place a func_door (with lip adjusted to the distance one wants it to travel) and make the entity that should be moved follow it using misc_follow. I've tried this for other entities and it worked fine for some of them (e.g. trigger_hurt), but it doesn't seem to work for func_clientillusionary. In NetRadiant's description of misc_follow, it says "Will not work with all entities", so where can I find a list of which entities it will work with? Also any suggestions on what else to use instead of func_clientillusionary would be appreciated!
Thanks in advance!
A minimal reproducible example .map file is attached (just rename from .txt to .map).

Attached Files
.txt   miscfollowillusory.txt (Size: 7.95 KB / Downloads: 1)

try a trigger_impulse or trigger_push you can attach them to a door via misc_follow

I meant just the visual effect of looking like a futuristic "force field", transparent with some glowy stuff about (hence effects_forcefield/forcefield1_a shader), not the physical concept of an actual force field. Sorry, should've been clearer about that. All I'm looking for is a player-permeable brush entity I can move in the way described. But I did some more searching around and apparently I could just use a model instead of a brush and it would be permeable by default? That would work I guess.

a model would work or texturize one surface of the door with common/nodrawnonsolid(a side you wont see anyways) then the whole brush will be nonsolid

From what I see the shader is solid:

Code: