![]() |
[NEED HELP] I would like to setup a server; Where do I start? - Printable Version +- Xonotic Forums (https://forums.xonotic.org) +-- Forum: Support (https://forums.xonotic.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=3) +--- Forum: Xonotic - Server Administration (https://forums.xonotic.org/forumdisplay.php?fid=16) +--- Thread: [NEED HELP] I would like to setup a server; Where do I start? (/showthread.php?tid=7474) |
I would like to setup a server; Where do I start? - evilkittie - 06-29-2017 This is what I have to work with:
RE: I would like to setup a server; Where do I start? - evilkittie - 06-29-2017 Would I need the normal client software installed? or is there a special server version (server has no GUI, ssh only) I do know I want to run the SMB mods How many players can i support with my upload? RE: I would like to setup a server; Where do I start? - Freddy - 06-30-2017 I don't think that the SMB mod can be downloaded in compiled form, so you probably need to compile it (and xonotic) yourself. See https://gitlab.com/xonotic/xonotic/wikis/Repository_Access and https://github.com/MarioSMB/modpack As Lyberta said, there is an example config and instructions in the "server" directory. Some help can also be found in the "Docs" directory. You will also need to open the correct port for your server (default port is 26000). If you plan to host custom maps, you will also need a HTTP download server. You can either host it yourself (e.g. with nginx) or use an external server. The download url has to be specified in your server config ("sv_curl_defaulturl"). Your upload speed is not that high, so don't expect that many people can play on that server. RE: I would like to setup a server; Where do I start? - evilkittie - 06-30-2017 i realise the upload is crap, but how low is it, if it can't even handle 10 players it is not worth setting up RE: I would like to setup a server; Where do I start? - evilkittie - 07-01-2017 That was meant as a question, i have not even compiled it yet just wanted to have a idea as to how many it can handle, so i know if it is worth setting up RE: I would like to setup a server; Where do I start? - evilkittie - 07-01-2017 I have compiled both xonotic and the smb mod How do i enable these features
RE: I would like to setup a server; Where do I start? - BuddyFriendGuy - 07-05-2017 (07-01-2017, 07:24 AM)Lyberta Wrote: 5.65 Mbit/s can't handle 10 players? I've handled 24 players with 1 Mbit/s in Team Fortress 2... Thought you only play open source games. (07-01-2017, 12:58 PM)evilkittie Wrote: I have compiled both xonotic and the smb mod I basically just use the maps I like in my dlcache/, in which maps were collected over time when I play on other servers. I added other maps that are posted in the forums. Most maps I use are in xonotic.co RE: I would like to setup a server; Where do I start? - evilkittie - 07-05-2017 Thanks for your reply, I just stared grabbing maps i like the screenshot of on xonotic.co the other day I have made a PHP script to allow me to server both files from my server and dl.xonotic.co and potentially others PHP Code: <?php RE: I would like to setup a server; Where do I start? - evilkittie - 07-10-2017 So I made a manual for voting (40+ echo lines), how do i made it so this alias can be called from the client? anyone know to i can have a message printed at the start of each match? RE: I would like to setup a server; Where do I start? - martin-t - 07-10-2017 I don't think it's possible to make an alias callable from client. Maybe if people already know how to vote, you could provide this alias as a vote itself and then if accepted it would print it to all players. Pretty cumbersome but nothing better occurs to me. To print something at the start of a match, use sv_hook_gamestart_all - example. RE: I would like to setup a server; Where do I start? - Mario - 07-11-2017 vhelp already shows a list of available votes, including information on how to vote. We really should turn this into a menu some day though... RE: I would like to setup a server; Where do I start? - evilkittie - 07-11-2017 vhelp lacks descriptions on what a vote does, made something more like a program --help output Code: echo "Voting manual:" RE: I would like to setup a server; Where do I start? - Mario - 07-11-2017 There actually seems to be an interesting feature available to server admins - the info command. It accesses a cvar (let's say users use the command "info voting"), which then prints them the message. The result isn't super clean for you as the admin, but it may be something to make use of; set sv_info_voting "Available votes:\n\n^3instagib ^7- ^2Switches the server to InstaGib mode, in which you have the instant-killing vaporizer as your primary weapon and an off-hand grappling hook\n^3riflearena ^7- ^2Switches the server to Rifle Arena mode, in which you have a sniper rifle and zombies roam the arena!" You can probably find ways to make this easier for yourself, but here's one example: Code: sv_vote_commands "restart endmatch extendmatchtime reducematchtime" This way allows you to include the votes in the voting list at the same time as adding info for them, so maybe it's worth a try. RE: I would like to setup a server; Where do I start? - evilkittie - 07-11-2017 (07-10-2017, 09:25 PM)martin-t Wrote: To print something at the start of a match, use sv_hook_gamestart_all - example.So this should work? i only had a minute to try this this evening, and it did not seem to work.. maybe i missed something Code: alias sv_hook_gamestart_all "say To access the quickmenu press F8;" as for the info thing mario found, that looks a but too messy IMO, i did figure out i can drop a cfg file into a a edited quickmenu pk3 and by editing the call a vote to command replacing vhelp with exec vmanual.cfg i can spit out anything i need to RE: I would like to setup a server; Where do I start? - Mario - 07-12-2017 Updated my post to include some fixes to the info method discovered while trying this for myself. addtolist adds new items to the start of the list, so the info cvar needs to be built backwards. RE: I would like to setup a server; Where do I start? - martin-t - 07-12-2017 (07-11-2017, 08:06 PM)evilkittie Wrote:(07-10-2017, 09:25 PM)martin-t Wrote: To print something at the start of a match, use sv_hook_gamestart_all - example.So this should work? i only had a minute to try this this evening, and it did not seem to work.. maybe i missed something Yes, this works on my server and when testing locally too. Note that when testing locally Code: alias sv_hook_gamestart_all "say xxx"; map dance RE: I would like to setup a server; Where do I start? - evilkittie - 07-12-2017 I got the sv_hook _gamestart_all to work I found a way to push a alias to the client (we just make a pk3 file) i put a file called autoexec.cfg in a zip file along a script.cfg file in autoexec.cfg i have alias vmanual "exec vmanual.cfg"now that zip has vmanual.cfg and autoexec.cfg we rename .zip to .pk3 now we drop the file into our servers data folder and we are good to go (provided we have a way to download it) edit: autoexec.cfg does not run when done remotely... maybe there is some way we could create a man command that would work like the man command in a linux terminal http://www.linfo.org/man.html RE: I would like to setup a server; Where do I start? - Mario - 07-12-2017 There isn't going to be a "clean" way to do this, given the nature of what you're aiming for. The closest thing I've found to an in-game manual function is the aforementioned info command. Executing custom config files on the client is a real hack either way, and including an autoexec.cfg in your package is definitely a no go. RE: I would like to setup a server; Where do I start? - evilkittie - 07-13-2017 For now what i did was change vhelp to exec vmanual.cfg in the quickmenu.txt file, i do consider that info command useful btw does anyone know what movetoauto does? |