Create an account

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
[SOLVED] [Solved]How to install or runn Xonotic

So .. Hallo .. for one week i have changed (i never used something else as windows) my Windows to Ubuntu , so I am pretty new in Ubuntu, i know already something but not much .
My problem is now how to launch game Xonotic ..
I downloaded Xonotic , unpacket the game in to :
~/Games/Xonotic
my problem is ... i do not know what to do now ....
If i launch xonotic-linux32-glx i get a message : something like i have to setup the basedir of game to the patch of my game data ...i do not know where to look ...
I dont even know if i have to install this game , but if i try :
sudo apt-get install Xonotic ... i receave message that the package was not found ...
I also found a file named Makefile where inside is :
DESTDIR ?=
PREFIX ?= /usr/local
BINDIR ?= $(PREFIX)/bin
LIBDIR ?= $(PREFIX)/lib/xonotic
DOCDIR ?= $(PREFIX)/share/doc/xonotic
Do i need edit this file ? I mean DESTDIR ... ?

So please help me if someone knows what to do.
And if you have tips for the future i would be glad to reed them ...
Thank you for helping me...

Can you try running it from a terminal? Open a terminal, navigate to the folder ("cd Games/Xonotic") and launch the appropriate executable then from there (do "./xonotic-linux32-glx.sh"). I think it has a ".sh" ending? Note that you can use the <TAB> key to autocomplete commands, if there are multiple completions possible, hit it twice to see the possibilities.

I think what you did is that you executed the script from a file manager? It might be that it doesn't get a proper basedir assigned then. When not launching it from terminal from within the folder, you might have to provide the basedir with the command, if I remember correctly. If you generate yourself a starter for your menu, you can enter the basedir for the skript somewhere there (which would be ~/Games/Xonotic in your case).