Create an account


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
qer_normalImage texture: sets the normal map for bump mapping

#1
Working with the shaders of Darkplaces/Xonotic I got a few issues. Like that you don't declare all the textures inside the shader itself, rather it is automated to look for filename appendixes like _norm, _gloss; etc.

This might seem initially convenient but it means also that you're wasting a lot of VRAM as you will end up using quite a lot duplicate textures for normalmaps and glossmaps.

Noe I found a parameter in the wiki for defining the normalmap by different name,
qer_normalImage texture: sets the normal map for bump mapping

Problem is that I can't seem to get it to work. Also, it's prefixed by qer_ wich suggests it's only used in the actual editor, aka define the normalmap for use during texture baking.

It's a bit confusing to be honest. But if anyone could shed some light on this issue, I would be greatful.[/size]
Reply

#2
Here is the wiki page referred to in the OP: http://dev.xonotic.org/projects/3/wiki/C...r_keywords

I can't find any reference to it in the source code. I have no idea where that list in the wiki came from.
[Image:http://i.imgur.com/4XODR.png]640K ought to be enough for anybody.
     ― Linux Torvalds
Reply

#3
It's possible it is deprcated from the Id Tech 3 shaderdecl where you could use normalmaps on the textures when you were baking the lightmaps for the levels. (can't recall how exactly it worked, cause I never bothered much with it back then)

Anyway, here's a basic example of how Id Tech 4 materials ref handle the different textures in a material.

Code:
textures/base_floor/roundfloor1
{
    metal

    qer_editorimage        textures/base_floor/roundfloor1.tga
    bumpmap            textures/base_floor/roundfloor1_local.tga
    diffusemap        textures/base_floor/roundfloor1_d.tga
    specularmap        textures/base_floor/roundfloor1_s.tga
}

Granted that it's nice and convenient to not always have to bother with this. But the shaders should at least support these so it won't be so wasteful when you set up your resources.
Reply



Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [NEED HELP] Texture problems in MD3 exported models (Quake 3) xLuca91x 9 675 03-31-2020, 03:13 PM
Last Post: xLuca91x
  Texture release thread _para 11 2,262 03-14-2019, 10:45 AM
Last Post: _para
  Tech texture set by Cr4zy now officially distributed under GPLv2+ license illwieckz 3 1,119 10-05-2018, 09:39 AM
Last Post: Julius
  Texture and Player Model Creation Help Molnija 5 1,468 09-30-2018, 12:04 PM
Last Post: Molnija
Brick trying to get into mapping, HAALP TheSmasher1992 21 2,520 06-14-2018, 02:04 PM
Last Post: Julius
  What is needed to get started mapping? twitch 5 2,502 01-15-2017, 10:13 PM
Last Post: twitch
  [SOLVED] 3d texture? Z(Rus) 2 2,234 01-23-2016, 06:30 AM
Last Post: Z(Rus)
  Mapping tutorials tZork 38 37,635 09-05-2015, 02:40 AM
Last Post: darkhog
  Anyone needs an already-existing texture upscaled? acerspyro 0 2,078 07-16-2015, 02:44 PM
Last Post: acerspyro
  Texture coordinates homs 4 3,945 05-19-2015, 09:45 AM
Last Post: homs

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)

Forum software by © MyBB original theme © iAndrew 2016, remixed by -z-