Create an account

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hi!

Just thought I drop by and say "Hi!" I started playing Nexius just before the fork and I'm running the auto build version. I enjoy playing Xonotic, but I don't consider myself a gamer. The games I've played over the years are basically:

Doom and Heavy Metal on Linux.
Tomb Raider and a few flight sims (When I ran Windows)

Yea, it has been a while since I've played anything on a regular basis. Much less an online game, but Xonotic has changed that. Smile

Say, can anyone recommend a decent game controller to use with Xonotic running on Linux? I'm using the keyboard and mouse right now. It works, but switching weapons with the mouse is a pain.

I hope to see everyone around.

Antaris.

Hello, and welcome to the world of gamers! Smile
Tbh, I don't recommend gamepads at all. But for switching weapons, I'd recommend the keyboard, it has ton of keys to bind the weapons to.
Some play with arrows (I've done so in the very beginning, when I started playing FPS games), and I've bound the weapons to the nearby function keys: Ins, del, home, end etc.
Now, that I play with ESDF (not WASD, my thumb is too small for that, I can't reach the SPACE key well Big Grin ), I bind my weapons to the nearby buttons:
Q - Laser
R - Rocket Launcher
T - Xon riffle
Z - Electro
U - Crylink
G - Grenade launcher
H - Machine gun
C - Shotgun
V - Hagar
B - Fireball

Imho this is a very comfy setup, but feel free to experiment! There's a menu panel to change almost every important binds in the game.
[Image: 561.png]
"One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret."

Hi.

[Image: 00018.jpg]
<Halogene> ok "n1" means "nice one"
<Halogene> "gl" means "good luck"
<Halogene> "fu" means "wow that was wickedly nice that frag"
Frogg on Instagram