Create an account


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[SOLVED] best and cheapest hosting provider

#26
I picked Germany as my region (NRW), you can select any region.

I think Zero Two picked Austria and there is no ARM datacenter in this country, so he can't select ARM, but he can also not switch his region anymore!

This really sucked, and we could not figure out how to switch him to another region without contacting support or something. Make sure not to pick some small country as your region, or you will probably run into this same issue and your account is broken.

This map of regions is the best I could find. It doesn't show which regions have ARM, but maybe try to pick the ones with Azure, since those are probably the bigger and more modern datacenters.
Visit our clan website: http://extreme.voltage.nz/
Reply

#27
(02-26-2023, 07:43 PM)ballerburg9005 Wrote: I picked Germany as my region (NRW), you can select any region.

I think Zero Two picked Austria and there is no ARM datacenter in this country, so he can't select ARM, but he can also not switch his region anymore!

This really sucked, and we could not figure out how to switch him to another region without contacting support or something. Make sure not to pick some small country as your region, or you will probably run into this same issue and your account is broken.

This map of regions is the best I could find. It doesn't show which regions have ARM, but maybe try to pick the ones with Azure, since those are probably the bigger and more modern datacenters.

Thank you. Yes, locked in to a small amount of countries. I choose Sweden as my home, because it was the closest.

Though I did get an email this morning, I think, that the account was now setup, finished. I have to look at it again.

Will investigate. ty
FAF - FERIS - COPENHAGEN - DENMARK - GNU/Linux  Heart
Homepage: https://feris-xonotic.net
Reply

#28
In addition to choosing hoster and configuring server I think we need to provide more info in server's messages. I wrote my opinion here https://forums.xonotic.org/showthread.php?tid=9625 . May be some players are interested in some events or chats. AFAIK FAF wrote info in MOTD but I'm trying to extend this idea.
Reply

#29
(02-27-2023, 05:39 AM)xord86_64 Wrote: In addition to choosing hoster and configuring server I think we need to provide more info in server's messages. I wrote my opinion here https://forums.xonotic.org/showthread.php?tid=9625 . May be some players are interested in some events or chats. AFAIK FAF wrote info in MOTD but I'm trying to extend this idea.

I'll look at it.
FAF - FERIS - COPENHAGEN - DENMARK - GNU/Linux  Heart
Homepage: https://feris-xonotic.net
Reply

#30
(02-26-2023, 07:43 PM)ballerburg9005 wrote on his homepage Wrote: From your homepage: I recently made Xonotic docker containers for ARM for easy installation.

Do you run Xonotic in Docker on the Arm server?
FAF - FERIS - COPENHAGEN - DENMARK - GNU/Linux  Heart
Homepage: https://feris-xonotic.net
Reply

#31
No, you can use the autobuilds and compile ARM binaries from them with a single command. This is even easier, unless you are running on embedded systems or other oddball stuff.

Code:
# apt install autoconf build-essential curl git libtool libgmp-dev libjpeg-turbo8-dev libsdl2-dev libxpm-dev xserver-xorg-dev zlib1g-dev unzip zip wget
# unzip xonotic-autobuild.zip
# cd Xonotic
# make server

It is mentioned on my full server instructions for super-fast server setup from full public backup on Github.
Visit our clan website: http://extreme.voltage.nz/
Reply

#32
(03-01-2023, 09:27 PM)ballerburg9005 Wrote: No, you can use the autobuilds and compile ARM binaries from them with a single command. This is even easier, unless you are running on embedded systems or other oddball stuff.

Code:
# apt install autoconf build-essential curl git libtool libgmp-dev libjpeg-turbo8-dev libsdl2-dev libxpm-dev xserver-xorg-dev zlib1g-dev unzip zip wget
# unzip xonotic-autobuild.zip
# cd Xonotic
# make server

It is mentioned on my full server instructions for super-fast server setup from full public backup on Github.

Cool, thank you. This is good. It can only become better .)
FAF - FERIS - COPENHAGEN - DENMARK - GNU/Linux  Heart
Homepage: https://feris-xonotic.net
Reply

#33
I have been trying to create an ARM server for weeks now, but the region Frankfurt ist always booked out in Oracle Cloud.

Before that I got lucky and one evening I could still create 2 new servers. Ch4mp was also able to create new servers in that time and the same region. But all his servers later got deleted when the free trial expired, which might or might not have been due to him exhausting the "Forever Free" tier tokens temporarily, or Oracle just being an ass.

But no luck since then.
Visit our clan website: http://extreme.voltage.nz/
Reply

#34
(06-01-2023, 08:17 PM)ballerburg9005 Wrote: I have been trying to create an ARM server for weeks now, but the region Frankfurt ist always booked out in Oracle Cloud.

Before that I got lucky and one evening I could still create 2 new servers. Ch4mp was also able to create new servers in that time and the same region. But all his servers later got deleted when the free trial expired, which might or might not have been due to him exhausting the "Forever Free" tier tokens temporarily, or Oracle just being an ass.

But no luck since then.

No free lunch Smile
FAF - FERIS - COPENHAGEN - DENMARK - GNU/Linux  Heart
Homepage: https://feris-xonotic.net
Reply

#35
Well we have still 3 servers running over my account via Oracle for free. Maybe in different locations, there is still capacity.
Visit our clan website: http://extreme.voltage.nz/
Reply

#36
They have capacity again in Frankfurt. Give it a shot. 4 Servers 1 core each, 1Gbit network, awesome fast - forever free. It is worth the hassle.

27.06.2023
Visit our clan website: http://extreme.voltage.nz/
Reply

#37
(06-27-2023, 06:14 AM)ballerburg9005 Wrote: They have capacity again in Frankfurt. Give it a shot. 4 Servers 1 core each, 1Gbit network, awesome fast - forever free. It is worth the hassle.

27.06.2023

I really hope that this will stay free and provide a platform which can provide.
FAF - FERIS - COPENHAGEN - DENMARK - GNU/Linux  Heart
Homepage: https://feris-xonotic.net
Reply

#38
So "someone else" made an account in US Ashburn, and for some reason while in the free trial, it charged him money (from the free tokens) for the boot volume, thus any new VM would cost $2 per month or so. And he couldn't figure out why and thought that simply there was no "free storage" anymore available in this location.

Well it turns out you have to manage and delete the old boot volumes from previous VMs in "block storage"... There were 4 listed as "forever free" from deleted VMs and then 3 new ones which continued to generate cost.

US Ashburn has had consistently free servers so far. So it doesn't seem to be so in all locations that the free stuff is hard to get.

If you have this problem as well then go to "block storage" and delete the boot volumes. It might not take effect immediately.
Visit our clan website: http://extreme.voltage.nz/
Reply



Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  how to have blue team only with bots and red team 1 human player and 2 bots billyjoe 7 7,636 09-04-2021, 11:53 AM
Last Post: AndK
  Server Hosting Issue Saevus 3 3,141 11-11-2020, 02:53 PM
Last Post: :[:{b_e*r^f}:]:
  Free hosting for Xonotic servers MarisaG 8 6,461 09-18-2018, 07:06 PM
Last Post: MarisaG
  [SOLVED] Map-Hosting failure thunderbug 12 11,355 06-07-2013, 03:12 PM
Last Post: Mr. Bougo
  Server hosting? neXus 11 13,749 04-22-2012, 02:31 AM
Last Post: W4RP1G
  North America game server hosting suggestions? nifrek 5 8,817 03-12-2012, 01:00 AM
Last Post: nifrek

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)

Forum software by © MyBB original theme © iAndrew 2016, remixed by -z-