Create an account


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Are you good wit da photoshops?

#1
I have this terminal screen in my map that I whipped up a while back.

[Image: ibnc8ypkpmkgjjclenes_thumb.jpg]

Its kind of lame looking I think. I wondered if anybody out there that is handy with the photo shops could whip me up something better looking. Maybe with some cool graphics on it or something so it looks more like a computer screen on a space station. I would like to keep the background blue but more color would be good.

Cheers!
MintOX
[Image: di-712770583645.png]
Reply

#2
do you like this one?

.png   terminal_blue.png (Size: 55.28 KB / Downloads: 218)
Reply

#3
If it says 'message db "Hello XONOTIC!", "$"' the screen to the right should read "Hello XONOTIC!" Tongue
(07-18-2010, 10:59 AM)Flying Steel Wrote: How could anyone with ADHD tell its a high damage weapon if it wasn't a gigantic metal cock fucking the map whenever a player gets within 3 meters of a wall?

[Image: di-712770583645.png]
Reply

#4
(06-26-2010, 05:40 PM)Ribnon Wrote: do you like this one?

It looks pretty dam good but I think it needs to pop more.
This is how it looks in the game.

[Image: 4gxqodtc11a778wpw_thumb.jpg]

All the black is completely transparent. Maybe some color in the background so it glows more? I misspell t xonotic it comes up as xonotix. You can change the text if u want or get rid of it and put something cooler in there like some wire frame graphics or something... what ever you think.

Cheers!
MintOX
[Image: di-712770583645.png]
Reply

#5
Also, I would suggest making it larger than 256^2.
(07-18-2010, 10:59 AM)Flying Steel Wrote: How could anyone with ADHD tell its a high damage weapon if it wasn't a gigantic metal cock fucking the map whenever a player gets within 3 meters of a wall?

[Image: di-712770583645.png]
Reply

#6
I changed some of the things you mentioned, but i don't know how to fix that background issue...
i removed the alpha channel on the first attachment, so this one shouldn't be transparent.
(06-26-2010, 10:43 PM)Roanoke Wrote: Also, I would suggest making it larger than 256^2.
its vector graphics, i can render it at any resolution you want ;-)


Attached Files Thumbnail(s)
       
Reply

#7
(06-27-2010, 03:09 AM)Ribnon Wrote: I changed some of the things you mentioned, but i don't know how to fix that background issue...
i removed the alpha channel on the first attachment, so this one shouldn't be transparent.
(06-26-2010, 10:43 PM)Roanoke Wrote: Also, I would suggest making it larger than 256^2.
its vector graphics, i can render it at any resolution you want ;-)

Thanks Ribnon Smile
There is a shader that makes the screen transparent in game and it makes anything that is black on the texture completely transparent. This is what it looks like in game now. I put a white border around it. I love the addition of the guns. I was thinking about animating this screen a few frames. Is there anyway you could change the image a little to make it look like a screen glitch, like static or some sort of distortion? Then i can animate those images and make the screen look like it has a glitch.

Cheers!
MintOX

[Image: 0zqlo9arqb6ghvs6dd66_thumb.jpg]
[Image: di-712770583645.png]
Reply

#8
Assembler nitpick time:

1. the "mov ax, seg message" is redundant; however I was wrong on IRC, and now looked it up: EXE loading does not automatically preset DS (stupid MS-DOS)... so add back the "mov ds, ax".
2. the mov ah, 09 probably should be mov ah, 09h for consistency, although 9 decimal and hexadecimal are the same
3. the last int 21 sure is meant to be int 21h, like the first one
4. style question: is db"Hello... intentional (i.e. no space before the ")? It is likely valid syntax in some assembler.

Just saying, as this would be nice to fix before the texture is finalized.
BRLOGENSHFEGLE (core dumped)

The Bot Orchestra is back! | Xoylent Easter Egg | 5bots1piano
My music on Google Play and SoundCloud
Reply

#9
(06-28-2010, 01:50 AM)divVerent Wrote: Assembler nitpick time:

1. the "mov ax, seg message" is redundant; however I was wrong on IRC, and now looked it up: EXE loading does not automatically preset DS (stupid MS-DOS)... so add back the "mov ds, ax".
2. the mov ah, 09 probably should be mov ah, 09h for consistency, although 9 decimal and hexadecimal are the same
3. the last int 21 sure is meant to be int 21h, like the first one
4. style question: is db"Hello... intentional (i.e. no space before the ")? It is likely valid syntax in some assembler.

Just saying, as this would be nice to fix before the texture is finalized.

Ah you programmers. Such Anal-ytical thinkers Wink
Could you fix these things Ribnon? Smile

Cheers!
MintOX
[Image: di-712770583645.png]
Reply

#10
yeah, i will fix that, but
(06-28-2010, 01:50 AM)divVerent Wrote: Assembler nitpick time:

1. the "mov ax, seg message" is redundant; however I was wrong on IRC, and now looked it up: EXE loading does not automatically preset DS (stupid MS-DOS)... so add back the "mov ds, ax".
[...]
where does the "mov ds, ax" belong?

Edit: I meant to do something different but this came out ;-)
if you like it, ill render it at higher resolution.
Reply

#11
Ribbon,

That looks pretty good! Can you take out the code all together in that window. I want to have the code scroll in that window on a different layer. I can make the code image to overlay onto your image. I like the static effect tho.

Cheers!
MintOX
[Image: di-712770583645.png]
Reply

#12
AAAAH BLUE SCREEN OF DEATH!
Reply

#13
there you go


Attached Files Thumbnail(s)
   
Reply

#14
Ribnon,

Perfect! Where are the other frames with the static noise for the animation?

Cheers!
MintOX
[Image: di-712770583645.png]
Reply

#15
here Tongue
Reply

#16
(06-30-2010, 02:51 AM)Ribnon Wrote: here Tongue

Ribnon,

Your fkning awesome. Thanks!


Cheers!
MintOX
[Image: di-712770583645.png]
Reply



Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  is there a good how to for skyboxes ? Kamakazi 4 3,012 04-13-2016, 09:23 AM
Last Post: Kamakazi
  why cod4 looks so good hutty 23 11,354 06-09-2012, 12:30 AM
Last Post: CuBe0wL
  Blender - Any GOOD md3 exporters for 2.55? Minkovsky 3 4,574 02-11-2011, 04:26 PM
Last Post: nowego4
  Collecting opinions about good competetive Duel-Map WTFProoF 33 21,931 01-07-2011, 07:48 AM
Last Post: Strahlemann
Photo DM Layout - is it good? Minkovsky 11 7,353 10-16-2010, 01:01 PM
Last Post: Minkovsky
  Can you texture in the photoshops? MintOX 9 6,627 09-01-2010, 09:37 AM
Last Post: rainerzufalldererste

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)

Forum software by © MyBB original theme © iAndrew 2016, remixed by -z-