Create an account


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[NEEDS INFO] How to add fog in Xonotic map

#1
Hello, how to place fog in a map? I can't find func_fog or fog texture.
Reply

#2
You will need to hover over worldspawn and press "N" for the menu
ONLY WORLDSPAWN, NO OTHER


Attached Files Thumbnail(s)
   
My maps:
CTF: Trident_ctf, Moon terror;
DM: Checkfriend, Last man standing remix (ctf);
Duel: tempullit, X air walker;
Kota-dooM: Kota-dooM, Kota-dooM4 (-2);
Race: Map packs;
Special: Triangle, Mid space 'em.

You can check out my other maps here.
Reply

#3
(11-03-2020, 02:27 PM)Kotangens Wrote: You will need to hover over worldspawn and press "N" for the menu
ONLY WORLDSPAWN, NO OTHER

Uhhh..it was so easy..thank you!!

EDIT:

Since my fog brush was covering all the entities I had to apply a shader also, otherwise I was getting this error:


Code:
no entities in open -- no filling 
MAP LEAKED


This is my fog shader script:


Code:
textures/fogs/fog
{
    qer_editorimage textures/fogs/fog.tga
    surfaceparm trans
    surfaceparm nonsolid
    surfaceparm nodrop
    surfaceparm fog
}


and this is my key in the worldspawn brush:

fog 0.2 0.1 0.1 0.1 0.9
Reply

#4
Do fog-brushes actually work? My last information is that xon doesn't support them. Only the global shadow.
Reply

#5
The only fog supported by DarkPlaces engine is global fog. It means that it does not support anything related to brush/shader fog.

Global fog is set in Worldspawn entity or in mapname.mapinfo file:

fog <density> <red> <green> <blue> [<alpha> <mindist> <maxdist> <top> <fade-height>]


    density - how much fog to add per distance, this is virtual value. 1 means very strong fog.
    red - red component of fog color
    green - green component of fog color
    blue - blue component of fog color
    alpha - fog effect opacity (default is 1)
    mindist - distance to start applying fog at
    maxdist - maximal distance apply fog at
    top - origin of height plane at worldspace (game units)
    height - fog height fade in game units
Reply



Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
Thumbs Up [NEED HELP] How to add more bots in multiplayer funbags 0 497 03-30-2023, 10:13 PM
Last Post: funbags
  [NEED HELP] Change mapinfo to make a CTF map a CTS map. Bhagwa-Yodhak-69 3 2,276 09-08-2020, 06:03 AM
Last Post: _para
  [NEED HELP] Add Bots using Console in Xonotic OpenSourceGames 1 7,869 08-09-2019, 10:16 AM
Last Post: martin-t
  [SOLVED] Can I add my own mp3 as BGM? zwz 3 4,301 07-23-2014, 05:00 AM
Last Post: Ari
  [NEEDS INFO] cant download map, black map area jaybates86 5 6,850 10-08-2013, 06:09 AM
Last Post: Halogene
  [SOLVED] add map to campaignxonoticbeta.txt soukaina 8 5,607 07-16-2012, 07:11 AM
Last Post: Mirio
  [NEEDS INFO] We need a FAQ item for the "black map" problem in maps with fog Mr. Bougo 6 6,456 05-30-2012, 10:36 AM
Last Post: edh
  [NEEDS INFO] how to add xonotic to ubuntu 11.10 dash ervindy 3 5,174 10-22-2011, 02:27 AM
Last Post: asyyy

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)

Forum software by © MyBB original theme © iAndrew 2016, remixed by -z-