Create an account

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How do I host a single map on a hosted Windows Server

I am trying to set up a server for team to team competition. We only want a single map on the hosted server. I have tried numerous things to get the map to show up. I can get the map to work on a LAN by putting the pk3 file in the saved games/xonotic/data folder with Windows 7.

On the hosted Windows server, I have put the pk3 file in the /data folder. Also created a /data/maps folder and put it in there. I also put it in the /data/data folder.

When these didn’t work, based on http://forums.xonotic.org/showthread.php?tid=4183, I pointed sv_curl_defaultur to a location and put the pk3 files in there.

When that didn’t work I put in a curl_url.txt.

So I am now stuck and looking for some suggestions. Unfortunately, I am not experienced with this stuff at all.

PK3 files are only loaded from the data directory root, i.e. /data.

You don't need a curl_url.txt if your third party maps are all hosted in the same place. The way sv_curl_defaulturl is used is to prepend it to the mapname.pk3 to form a URL which should point to the PK3. If your sv_curl_defaulturl is "http://example.com", the formed url will be "http://example.commapname.pk3" which is clearly wrong. What is your sv_curl_defaulturl set to?

Can you tell me how exactly your server failed? I can't really tell what's wrong with your setup if I don't know how it fails.

The server acts the same as if I didn't have the map in the data directory. We are using a shortened version of the courtfun map. The file is courtfun-full-6a3743c3a9b381eb93a020a842a2aec57d082a6f-bce306f786f2cd5f43e4f82a8b23efecabeb6756.pk3. I have the sv_curl_defaulturl in the server.cfg disabled at the moment. I have both the BSP only and the Full pk3 in the /data file.