Create an account


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Change models, help or a tutorial needed

#1
Hello forum, I'm new with the Quake Engine, but I have experience under Ubuntu, Windows 7 with Blender, 3ds Max, Cryengine 3 and Unity3d. I'm really impressed with that, what the developers of Xonotic have done with an modified version of the Quake 3 Engine Tongue I've decided to add new models for testing the engine a bit, but I really don't now where to beginn I have some weapon models (not createt by me) and I want them to convert into .md3 or (iqm,iqe). I prefer to use Blender but I don't now how to configure or install the Inter Quake Exporter and how all this works.

Can someone help me, I haven't experience with modifying (editing) Xonotic Dodgy
Reply

#2
actually its quake 1 engine hehe
Reply

#3
Uh no, it's DarkPlaces.
[Image:http://i.imgur.com/4XODR.png]640K ought to be enough for anybody.
     ― Linux Torvalds
Reply

#4
Ok, Quake 1 Engine ^^
I found this site in the wiki with some models (.blend iqm.framegroups) http://dev.xonotic.org/projects/xonotic/files
If I create a model like that one in the .blend file, I just have to export it in .iqm.framegroups and then I can replace the orginal model in the Xonotic folder, right? Huh
Reply

#5
Actually the .framegroups file is not a model, it is a file that tells the engine about the animations from the actual model (the .iqm file). Some information about this here: http://dev.xonotic.org/projects/xonotic/...ramegroups

I have no experience with weapon models, so unfortunately I can't help with that. But for player models you can have a look here: http://dev.xonotic.org/projects/xonotic/...der_to_IQM

Exporting to IQM is very straightforward, basically you select the objects you want to export and the armature, then in the IQM exporter dialog you specify location and a list of animations separated by comas. It should work right away in the game, however if you have animations you will have to create a .framegroups file so engine knows about them. I have no clue however if it is the same for weapon models, hopefully somebody else can help.
Reply



Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Bot waypoints tutorial Karamel 2 4,034 07-12-2020, 11:05 AM
Last Post: terencehill
  [NEED HELP] NetRadiant Models Not Working 3agle427 7 1,079 06-26-2020, 11:40 AM
Last Post: DarkFox
Rainbow [NEED HELP] Player models. Import to blender, export to xonotic. Snekky 1 451 04-19-2020, 09:16 AM
Last Post: DarkFox
  [NEED HELP] Texture problems in MD3 exported models (Quake 3) xLuca91x 9 696 03-31-2020, 03:13 PM
Last Post: xLuca91x
  Renamon & Krystal player models MirceaKitsune 37 40,034 12-12-2019, 07:51 AM
Last Post: Mario
  Seeking artist for new character models MarisaG 0 1,099 10-12-2018, 05:25 PM
Last Post: MarisaG
Information Progress tracking: getting a new playermodel into Xonotic (tutorial) poVoq 23 24,569 01-29-2017, 06:07 PM
Last Post: Sharoun
  What is needed to get started mapping? twitch 5 2,504 01-15-2017, 10:13 PM
Last Post: twitch
  Request for Models Cortez666 6 3,687 07-14-2016, 01:36 PM
Last Post: Cortez666
  Models Justin 77 27,087 02-01-2016, 04:17 PM
Last Post: Justin

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)

Forum software by © MyBB original theme © iAndrew 2016, remixed by -z-