Create an account


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Change models, help or a tutorial needed

#1
Hello forum, I'm new with the Quake Engine, but I have experience under Ubuntu, Windows 7 with Blender, 3ds Max, Cryengine 3 and Unity3d. I'm really impressed with that, what the developers of Xonotic have done with an modified version of the Quake 3 Engine Tongue I've decided to add new models for testing the engine a bit, but I really don't now where to beginn I have some weapon models (not createt by me) and I want them to convert into .md3 or (iqm,iqe). I prefer to use Blender but I don't now how to configure or install the Inter Quake Exporter and how all this works.

Can someone help me, I haven't experience with modifying (editing) Xonotic Dodgy
Reply

#2
actually its quake 1 engine hehe
Reply

#3
Uh no, it's DarkPlaces.
[Image:http://i.imgur.com/4XODR.png]640K ought to be enough for anybody.
     ― Linux Torvalds
Reply

#4
Ok, Quake 1 Engine ^^
I found this site in the wiki with some models (.blend iqm.framegroups) http://dev.xonotic.org/projects/xonotic/files
If I create a model like that one in the .blend file, I just have to export it in .iqm.framegroups and then I can replace the orginal model in the Xonotic folder, right? Huh
Reply

#5
Actually the .framegroups file is not a model, it is a file that tells the engine about the animations from the actual model (the .iqm file). Some information about this here: http://dev.xonotic.org/projects/xonotic/...ramegroups

I have no experience with weapon models, so unfortunately I can't help with that. But for player models you can have a look here: http://dev.xonotic.org/projects/xonotic/...der_to_IQM

Exporting to IQM is very straightforward, basically you select the objects you want to export and the armature, then in the IQM exporter dialog you specify location and a list of animations separated by comas. It should work right away in the game, however if you have animations you will have to create a .framegroups file so engine knows about them. I have no clue however if it is the same for weapon models, hopefully somebody else can help.
Reply



Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [NEED HELP] NetRadiant Models Not Working 3agle427 1 473 01-13-2019, 04:53 AM
Last Post: SpiKe
  Renamon & Krystal player models MirceaKitsune 35 36,697 12-20-2018, 05:53 PM
Last Post: MirceaKitsune
  Seeking artist for new character models MarisaG 0 806 10-12-2018, 05:25 PM
Last Post: MarisaG
Information Progress tracking: getting a new playermodel into Xonotic (tutorial) poVoq 23 20,436 01-29-2017, 06:07 PM
Last Post: Sharoun
  What is needed to get started mapping? twitch 5 2,104 01-15-2017, 10:13 PM
Last Post: twitch
  Request for Models Cortez666 6 3,103 07-14-2016, 01:36 PM
Last Post: Cortez666
  Bot waypoints tutorial Karamel 1 3,656 07-09-2016, 12:01 AM
Last Post: fabzor3
  Models Justin 77 25,005 02-01-2016, 04:17 PM
Last Post: Justin
  [Discussion] Tutorial and Training maps -z- 41 17,399 01-28-2016, 07:19 AM
Last Post: Mario
  Importing models Justin 22 17,924 01-22-2016, 09:01 AM
Last Post: Z(Rus)

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)

Forum software by © MyBB original theme © iAndrew 2016, remixed by -z-