Create an account


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
How to start LAN game with custom map on Quake?

#1
I'm using Quake with the DarkPlaces Engine installed. And I want to know wither I can play with custom maps instead of the pre-installed ones.

Or would it be easier to play Xonotic over Quake1?
Reply

#2
Same as Xonotic: use the chmap command. If you have a map that's called maps/foo.bsp, just do
Code:
chmap foo
sv_public 0
and on the second LAN client:
Code:
connect 123.45.67.89
using the LAN IP of the serving client.
Reply

#3
I'm not sure about the IP address
Reply

#4
It's the address on the LAN. You can find it out by having a look at the network interface settings in your OS.
Reply

#5
Can I use this?
http://www.codingmonkeys.de/portmap/
Reply

#6
Why would you want to do that? We're talking about a LAN game here, there's no need to map internet ports.

What exactly is your problem? Did you not succeed at finding a way to know your LAN IP, or did you succeed but fail at connecting quake clients through the LAN?
Reply

#7
I just like to use that program to see my IP so others can join Smile

Can't I select the world from Create LAN Game?
I will find my LAN IP. I need to try connecting though
Reply

#8
Will that not show you your WAN IP?

You really don't need any extra software to show your ip. Just having a look at the network settings/status of your operating system will be enough. You can also use the ipconfig command in a console if you're in windows.

I don't know what you can do with the menu because I don't remember what quake looks like. I'm giving you a universal solution for DarkPlaces. What matters is that your hosting client or dedicated server has a map loaded, and its sv_public server cvar set to an integer higher or equal to -1 (0 should work fine for all LAN setups).
Reply

#9
I can find my IP in the settings yes.
I found a better way and that is to make a server with all settings you want. then type
map [MAP NAME]
Reply

#10
A better way to do what exactly? I have no idea what you think "map [MAP NAME]" does and what it replaces.
Reply

#11
It loads a map Smile
It will kick everybody though.
Reply

#12
Use changelevel instead.

Anyway, you didn't answer my questions. I have no idea what you're doing or trying to do, what succeeded and what still fails. Until that's made clear, I'm done with this thread Tongue
Reply

#13
Yep the command does work good.

What I need is a way to load up a custom map.
Reply

#14
As I said, use changelevel.

By the way, I recently realized that my first post makes use of "chmap" which I don't think exists in vanilla darkplaces. I wonder why you have said nothing about it failing.
Reply

#15
Because I didn't want to try it Smile
I find changelevel much better!
Reply

#16
Eh. Please understand that I try to be involved when doing support. If you're ignoring my questions or recommendations or find better alternatives, please let me know.
Reply

#17
(08-29-2013, 11:43 AM)Mr. Bougo Wrote: Eh. Please understand that I try to be involved when doing support. If you're ignoring my questions or recommendations or find better alternatives, please let me know.
Yes sorry I just hate stuffing around with IP's etc. and other Network problems, they are the most annoying.
Reply



Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Quake 3 mod for Minecraft neXus 2 675 02-20-2024, 02:09 AM
Last Post: Frombleasome2004
  Made a Quake Champions frag video check it out zeroql 4 4,852 08-31-2017, 09:06 PM
Last Post: SilenceKiller
  [NEED HELP] Quake maps in Xonotic Kriss7475 2 6,104 04-01-2017, 07:08 AM
Last Post: Kriss7475
  Quake 2 Railwarz instaGib CTF!!! Games 7 nights a week! bind key +hook for lazer hook MajorLazer 7 11,592 09-19-2016, 05:34 PM
Last Post: MajorLazer
  Quake Champions!? A NEW QUAKE!? VertX 32 28,881 08-05-2016, 01:16 PM
Last Post: kojn^
  Which Quake 3 Client should I use? Beagle 6 8,411 07-18-2016, 02:19 PM
Last Post: Beagle
Star Serenity recreated in Quake 3 engine Greaserpirate 3 11,374 06-11-2016, 11:50 PM
Last Post: BuddyFriendGuy
  We can pretty much declare Quake Live dead Lee_Stricklin 21 24,908 05-31-2016, 03:36 AM
Last Post: Smilecythe
Photo A History of Quake (Xonotic Briefly Mentioned) qwertyuiop924 1 4,229 05-30-2016, 06:49 PM
Last Post: BuddyFriendGuy
  Craziest Quake Setup SPLAT 6 10,432 06-23-2015, 05:13 PM
Last Post: Lee_Stricklin

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)

Forum software by © MyBB original theme © iAndrew 2016, remixed by -z-