Create an account


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
How to start LAN game with custom map on Quake?

#1
I'm using Quake with the DarkPlaces Engine installed. And I want to know wither I can play with custom maps instead of the pre-installed ones.

Or would it be easier to play Xonotic over Quake1?
Reply

#2
Same as Xonotic: use the chmap command. If you have a map that's called maps/foo.bsp, just do
Code:
chmap foo
sv_public 0
and on the second LAN client:
Code:
connect 123.45.67.89
using the LAN IP of the serving client.
[Image:http://i.imgur.com/4XODR.png]640K ought to be enough for anybody.
     ― Linux Torvalds
Reply

#3
I'm not sure about the IP address
Reply

#4
It's the address on the LAN. You can find it out by having a look at the network interface settings in your OS.
[Image:http://i.imgur.com/4XODR.png]640K ought to be enough for anybody.
     ― Linux Torvalds
Reply

#5
Can I use this?
http://www.codingmonkeys.de/portmap/
Reply

#6
Why would you want to do that? We're talking about a LAN game here, there's no need to map internet ports.

What exactly is your problem? Did you not succeed at finding a way to know your LAN IP, or did you succeed but fail at connecting quake clients through the LAN?
[Image:http://i.imgur.com/4XODR.png]640K ought to be enough for anybody.
     ― Linux Torvalds
Reply

#7
I just like to use that program to see my IP so others can join Smile

Can't I select the world from Create LAN Game?
I will find my LAN IP. I need to try connecting though
Reply

#8
Will that not show you your WAN IP?

You really don't need any extra software to show your ip. Just having a look at the network settings/status of your operating system will be enough. You can also use the ipconfig command in a console if you're in windows.

I don't know what you can do with the menu because I don't remember what quake looks like. I'm giving you a universal solution for DarkPlaces. What matters is that your hosting client or dedicated server has a map loaded, and its sv_public server cvar set to an integer higher or equal to -1 (0 should work fine for all LAN setups).
[Image:http://i.imgur.com/4XODR.png]640K ought to be enough for anybody.
     ― Linux Torvalds
Reply

#9
I can find my IP in the settings yes.
I found a better way and that is to make a server with all settings you want. then type
map [MAP NAME]
Reply

#10
A better way to do what exactly? I have no idea what you think "map [MAP NAME]" does and what it replaces.
[Image:http://i.imgur.com/4XODR.png]640K ought to be enough for anybody.
     ― Linux Torvalds
Reply

#11
It loads a map Smile
It will kick everybody though.
Reply

#12
Use changelevel instead.

Anyway, you didn't answer my questions. I have no idea what you're doing or trying to do, what succeeded and what still fails. Until that's made clear, I'm done with this thread Tongue
[Image:http://i.imgur.com/4XODR.png]640K ought to be enough for anybody.
     ― Linux Torvalds
Reply

#13
Yep the command does work good.

What I need is a way to load up a custom map.
Reply

#14
As I said, use changelevel.

By the way, I recently realized that my first post makes use of "chmap" which I don't think exists in vanilla darkplaces. I wonder why you have said nothing about it failing.
[Image:http://i.imgur.com/4XODR.png]640K ought to be enough for anybody.
     ― Linux Torvalds
Reply

#15
Because I didn't want to try it Smile
I find changelevel much better!
Reply

#16
Eh. Please understand that I try to be involved when doing support. If you're ignoring my questions or recommendations or find better alternatives, please let me know.
[Image:http://i.imgur.com/4XODR.png]640K ought to be enough for anybody.
     ― Linux Torvalds
Reply

#17
(08-29-2013, 11:43 AM)Mr. Bougo Wrote: Eh. Please understand that I try to be involved when doing support. If you're ignoring my questions or recommendations or find better alternatives, please let me know.
Yes sorry I just hate stuffing around with IP's etc. and other Network problems, they are the most annoying.
Reply



Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Vore Tournament (game forked from Nexuiz) MirceaKitsune 137 173,309 Yesterday, 01:21 PM
Last Post: MirceaKitsune
Rainbow [How To] Make this game more popular. _para 20 4,276 04-10-2018, 09:31 AM
Last Post: Kim Jong-Ben
  Made a Quake Champions frag video check it out zeroql 4 1,793 08-31-2017, 09:06 PM
Last Post: SilenceKiller
  [NEED HELP] Quake maps in Xonotic Kriss7475 2 2,155 04-01-2017, 07:08 AM
Last Post: Kriss7475
  Quake 2 Railwarz instaGib CTF!!! Games 7 nights a week! bind key +hook for lazer hook MajorLazer 7 5,643 09-19-2016, 05:34 PM
Last Post: MajorLazer
  Anyone up for a poker game? Ch4mp 0 2,057 08-22-2016, 02:48 AM
Last Post: Ch4mp
  Quake Champions!? A NEW QUAKE!? VertX 32 14,855 08-05-2016, 01:16 PM
Last Post: kojn^
  Which Quake 3 Client should I use? Beagle 6 4,759 07-18-2016, 02:19 PM
Last Post: Beagle
  Anyone up for a Chess game? Ch4mp 1 2,304 07-13-2016, 05:33 AM
Last Post: aa
Star Serenity recreated in Quake 3 engine Greaserpirate 3 9,175 06-11-2016, 11:50 PM
Last Post: BuddyFriendGuy

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)

Forum software by © MyBB original theme © iAndrew 2016, remixed by -z-