Create an account


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[SOLVED] Wierd rendering issue

#1
I was just watching a xonotic movie on youtube, and noticed some maps look different for me, here's an example of what I see on my machine;

[Image: xonotic20150521164355-00.jpg]

What did I do?
Reply

#2
Eh I saw this before but can't remember what is causing it.

Do you run Xonotic 0.8?
Which OS?
Do you have a stormkeep.pk3 in your data folder (~\xonotic\data\ ; where config.cfg is located)? [Remove these pk3s]
Did you try lower settings?

Eventually move out your config.cfg file (don't delete!), start Xonotic again (it will generate a fresh config) and load one of the maps to check if it still happens.
[Image: 21.png]
IRC (QuakeNet): #bot.xonotic | #xonotic.pickup | #xonotic | #xonotic.cup
Steam | Twitch.tv | YouTube
Movies: Mirification #1 | #2 | Mirificaption #1 | #3 | #4 | [BOT] Clan #3 | #5 | #6 | #7 | [BOT] Clan #4 | #8

Reply

#3
(05-23-2015, 06:18 PM)Mirio Wrote: Eh I saw this before but can't remember what is causing it.

Do you run Xonotic 0.8?
Which OS?
Do you have a stormkeep.pk3 in your data folder (~\xonotic\data\ ; where config.cfg is located)? [Remove these pk3s]
Did you try lower settings?

Eventually move out your config.cfg file (don't delete!), start Xonotic again (it will generate a fresh config) and load one of the maps to check if it still happens.

Xonotic 0.8 in /xonotic, (and GIt in /xonotic-git), Windows 8/64
No stormkeep.pk3 in data folder, just the distribution pk3's, xonotic-20150113-maps.pk3
renamed config.cfg to config.cfg.old, still the same with new config.cfg
tried all presets from low to ultra with no change.

There's a file in /Xonotic/Data xonotic-20150330-maps-mapping.pk3 that isn't in my Xonotic zip, removing that file fixes the issue.

I don't remember how that got there...

[Image: xonotic20150523205620-00.jpg]

Everything is beautiful again, thanks!
Reply

#4
Yeah well, sometimes if you put maps in your data folder to play them offline, there is the possibility that it screws up your game. They have some shitty files inside then.
Or with other pk3s it can happen, like now. Big Grin So the first thing to do should be to move stuff out of the data folder that does not belong to the fresh install.
[Image: 21.png]
IRC (QuakeNet): #bot.xonotic | #xonotic.pickup | #xonotic | #xonotic.cup
Steam | Twitch.tv | YouTube
Movies: Mirification #1 | #2 | Mirificaption #1 | #3 | #4 | [BOT] Clan #3 | #5 | #6 | #7 | [BOT] Clan #4 | #8

Reply



Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [SOLVED] Weird key hold issue with official version Bloodthorn 10 1,212 05-22-2018, 03:26 AM
Last Post: Lyberta
  [BUG] SDL version not loading, glx version buggy rendering Halogene 3 1,684 10-19-2017, 06:04 AM
Last Post: Freddy
Question [NEEDS INFO] Multiplayer connection issue Adrint 18 4,310 06-20-2016, 01:37 AM
Last Post: BuddyFriendGuy
  [SOLVED] Little resolution issue since using Xonotic 0.8.1 N1mbus 4 2,112 09-03-2015, 02:34 PM
Last Post: N1mbus
  [NEED HELP] Weird Display Issue w/ Benchmarking Autobuild gamingwithnetbooks 2 2,258 11-13-2014, 08:35 AM
Last Post: gamingwithnetbooks
  [SOLVED] Ubuntu 12.04 Install Issue Red Viper 6 5,078 03-08-2014, 03:20 AM
Last Post: Halogene
  [BUG] Mac OSX 10.9 (Possibly 10.8 as well) Video Issue sirdavesmith 0 2,138 10-24-2013, 09:07 AM
Last Post: sirdavesmith
  [SOLVED] Little issue concerning video Mk 12 6,714 08-19-2013, 07:57 AM
Last Post: Mr. Bougo
  [SOLVED] Wierd ping issues. aa 5 3,492 03-27-2013, 03:27 AM
Last Post: Cyber Killer
  [NEEDS INFO] Wierd Linux SMP performance problem edh 1 2,195 11-13-2012, 01:47 PM
Last Post: Mr. Bougo

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)

Forum software by © MyBB original theme © iAndrew 2016, remixed by -z-