Create an account


Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[SOLVED] macOS Sierra: -basedir /path/to/game

#1
Exclamation 
Latest edit by mod for visibility:

The first thing to try is control+click the application in Finder, then select "open" and click "open" again when you see the popup.

This is the easiest way.


Edit by mod for visibility:

Type the following, replacing "/path/to/" with your actual path to Xonotic:

Quote:xattr -r -d com.apple.quarantine "/path/to/Xonotic.app"

I would like to shed light on the reason for this.

We haven't paid "the Apple Tax" ... as a developer you have to pay Apple in order to sign your packages.  We are an "unknown" developer to them, and the package is unsigned. This DOES NOT mean the package cannot be verified.  This is exactly why we provide hash sums to verify your downloaded package.

The Team is discussing possible solutions, but for now, the command above is you saying "yes, I know I downloaded this, and verified I know the developers" manually.

See the tracker for more technical details https://gitlab.com/xonotic/xonotic/issues/182


OP below this line
-------

Greetings:

I downloaded "xonotic-0.8.1.zip" this morning and I am unable to get it working on my macOS Sierra 10.12.1 system. When I click on the Application to launch it, it says the following.

Code:
You have reached this menu due to missing or unlocatable content/data.
You may consider adding
-basedir /path/to/game
to your launch commandline

I installed it by doing the following steps.

Code:
$ md5sum xonotic-0.8.1.zip
f7a9cd8ab68a00336acca164f983b569
$ unzip xonotic-0.8.1.zip
$ mv Xonotic /Applications/MyApplications

I tried launching it via double-clicking on it within Finder and with the following command within Terminal.

Code:
$ open /Applications/MyApplications/Xonotic/Xonotic.app

The configuration directory path that is auto-generated is within the following directory. I have tried removing this in-between each attempt and it doesn't fix the problem.

Code:
~/Library/Application Support/xonotic

I have also tried updating with "rsync-updater."

Code:
$ cd /Applications/MyApplications/Xonotic/misc/tools/rsync-updater
$ ./update-to-release.sh
# when that didn't work...
$ ./update-to-autobuild.sh

The closest I've been able to get to get it working was to do the following.

Code:
$ cd /Applications/MyApplications/Xonotic/Xonotic.app/Contents/MacOS/
$ open xonotic-osx-sdl-bin

This will work after the "release" or "autobuild" updates; it will not produce sound if run without the update, i.e., straight from the initial Zip file. When it does launch, it sends torturous stuff to the speakers for a few seconds before it settles.

I appreciate any assistance and recommendations with regards to this problem. Thank you for your help and time.

Kind regards,
iqxonotic
Reply

#2
(11-06-2016, 10:54 AM)iqxonotic Wrote: When it does launch, it sends torturous stuff to the speakers for a few seconds before it settles.

I don't have access to Sierra so sorry I can't help much but I can confirm that the beginning noise has been a problem for a while. It doesn't do any other harm though.
Reply

#3
Hi I just found a fix :

1. put the Xonotic folder in your Application folder.
2. right clic on Xonotic.app
3. Click show package content
4. go in Contents -> MacOS
5. Open a terminal window
6. drag and drop xonotic-osx-sdl in the terminal
7. type enter
8. the game should launch without error
Reply

#4
Since this problem came up once again on IRC, here is the solution to permanently fix the problem:
In the terminal, type

Code:
sudo xattr -r -d com.apple.quarantine "/path/to/Xonotic.app"
Instead of typing the path to the .app, you can just drag and drop the .app from finder into the terminal
Reply

#5
I don't think sudo is necessary, according to the comments on this.

We have a bug report for this issue by the way, which can be found here: https://gitlab.com/xonotic/xonotic/issues/182
[Image:http://i.imgur.com/4XODR.png]640K ought to be enough for anybody.
     ― Linux Torvalds
Reply

#6
Or you can do this to solve this issue which I read somewhere, it worked for me:
"Move Xonotic.app somewhere else and back [again] using the Finder."
e.g. drag Xonotic.app to your desktop, then drag it back to it's original place again.  Presto, it works.
iMac OS Sierra 10.12.6
Xonotic 0.8.2 autobuild
Reply

#7
Somebody on IRC said it's possible to CTRL+click and choose Open from the menu, can somebody on a Mac test this? Does it also persist like moving the .app somewhere else and back so it's possible to open xon normally after that? https://support.apple.com/kb/PH25088?locale=en_US
[Image: 30381.png]
Reply

#8
Put all files from xonotic folder to applications, and launch xonotic from launcher
Reply

#9
(12-16-2016, 09:56 AM)blaguou Wrote: Hi I just found a fix :

1. put the Xonotic folder in your Application folder.
2. right clic on Xonotic.app
3. Click show package content
4. go in Contents -> MacOS
5. Open a terminal window
6. drag and drop xonotic-osx-sdl in the terminal
7. type enter
8. the game should launch without error

can you made a script to load this when clicking? that can stay on the desktop?
Reply



Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [SOLVED] Game displays [x] joined the [y] team upon connecting Bloodthorn 3 97 09-17-2018, 01:52 AM
Last Post: Lyberta
  [NEED HELP] macOS Mojave 10.14 ComicsNights 0 83 09-08-2018, 05:20 AM
Last Post: ComicsNights
  [SOLVED] Cannot run game anymore after new git update Bloodthorn 2 205 07-25-2018, 07:20 AM
Last Post: Bloodthorn
  [NEEDS INFO] Game Crash On Load Castor 0 478 05-31-2018, 09:06 AM
Last Post: Castor
  [BUG] Fkeys F-keys F keys not working Mac OS Sierra 0.8.22 Space Ace 8 1,013 10-02-2017, 10:04 PM
Last Post: Space Ace
Photo [NEED HELP] When in game, the guns keep firing, sometimes doesn't fire when pointed at a target. U1Y5Y5 3 736 09-12-2017, 01:28 PM
Last Post: SpiKe
  [NEEDS INFO] -basedir /path/to/game itsMe 2 1,440 08-17-2016, 09:55 PM
Last Post: BuddyFriendGuy
  [NEED HELP] game modes/mods/types clarification BuddyFriendGuy 13 3,719 06-12-2016, 12:18 AM
Last Post: BuddyFriendGuy
  [FIXED] How do I pause game while having the console open? Beagle 8 2,538 05-14-2016, 02:35 PM
Last Post: Beagle
  [SOLVED] -basedir /path/to/game? :P 7 3,765 11-28-2015, 06:57 AM
Last Post: PinkRobot

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread:
2 Guest(s)

Forum software by © MyBB original theme © iAndrew 2016, remixed by -z-