Create an account

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hello I'm Arcadehero

Hello all.

I've been playing the game for a while, albeit only occasionally online. I either go by FLYNN or Arcadehero when online.

One thing I want to learn how to setup is a private server. I've been able to bring in several people to the game where we play together every Wednesday but joining an already setup server was really hit or miss and took us an hour to find a decent server so looking into setting up a private one. Any tips would be appreciated! I am a real noob with it unfortunately, I do not know how to write my own scripts and all of that yet.

Welcome!

Hi! I believe you can make a server just by using the "create" function, and then have people connect to your IP address. But make sure port 26000 is forwarded, and you also may encounter problems with you firewalls, both on the computer and in the router.

Another way is to setup a separate computer and run the server. I've done this, but it was not as stable as I would like(lagged alot). Same advice about the ports and firewall apply.

A better method, if you are somewhat familiar with the Linux terminal, is to use a free Amazon server. Just follow this tutorial http://forums.xonotic.org/showthread.php?tid=2797

I have 2 amazon servers myself and they work very well. I've never had to pay a cent because I use each one on a separate account.

If you want an easier to use server than Amazon, and with a better ping, http://www.hypernia.com/ sells them, but they are probably not worth buying for a once a week game with friends. I'd still go with he Amazon server in your situation.

Also, if you are North America, you can use my server(WARPIG's FRAG FEST) and vote for different maps, gametypes, and settings. It's an Amazon server. If you want to try a different NA server, check out the [0.6] Washington DC team game server. You can vote for different team games there. It's a Hypernia server.