Create an account


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[INVALID] Resolution can't be changed

#1
I can't change resolution of game neither in menu and cfg file.

My CFG file:
http://pastebin.com/raw.php?i=farDn5WY

Any ideas?
Reply

#2
You should say more about your configuration - hardware, os, drivers etc.
My contributions to Xonotic: talking in the forum, talking some more, talking a bit in the irc, talking in the forum again, XSkie
Reply

#3
Everything was fine for me. My specs are nothing special, Nvidia, Arch Linux. Until today.
Reply

#4
What about the commands vid_height and vid_width?
Reply

#5
Okay, here comes funny part. Game is in 1280x800, but console says different:
Code:
^71 possible variable:
^7^3vid_height^7 is "800" ["768"] resolution
^7Draw_CachePic: failed to load gfx/menu/luminos/icon_mod_Nex25+AirContr
^7]vid_height
^7"vid_height" is "800" ["768"]
^7]vid_width
^7"vid_width" is "1280" ["1024"]
Reply

#6
Yeah, set the resolution using vid_height and vid_width.

For example, if your monitor's a 800x600, you type:
Code:
vid_width 800
vid_height 600
vid_restart

The vid_restart makes it so that you don't have to restart the game to have it set right.
Reply

#7
Does anything get printed to the console when you try? What about running vid_restart? This will be required after changeing vid_width and vid_height manually and will give you the most useful information on the console.

I'm running Xonotic on Arch with NVIDIA and it's all working fine here on latest rsync.
I'm at least a reasonably tolerable person to be around - Narcopic
Reply

#8
Well, Mr.Bougo I said, that settings are NOT applied. I ave deleted profile of the game, still nothing. After typing in commands manually, it's still 1280x800. But interesting stuff in the console after vid_restart

^7]vid_restart
^7VID_Restart: changing from fullscreen 1280x800x16bpp, to fullscreen 800x600x16bpp.
^7OpenGL Backend shutting down
^7Loading OpenGL driver libGL.so.1
^7Using XFree86-VidModeExtension Version 2.2
^7Using XVidMode fullscreen mode at 1280x800

I have a suspect. Recently, after nvidia upgrade I had to change one string in MATE (gnome fork) in order to get it running.

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?...7#p1118727

I noticed, that other games act weird too, when I use resolution other than native.
Reply

#9
Strange. If you run Xonotic from the command line and append -vid_width 800 -vid_height 600 what happens? I would be very surprised if it does not work then.
I'm at least a reasonably tolerable person to be around - Narcopic
Reply

#10
You might try vid_netwmfullscreen 1. That'll pin your resolution to what your system uses (also will enable alt+tab Big Grin)
Only problem: now you really won't be able to change resolution from the game, only systemvise.
[Image: 561.png]
"One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret."
Reply

#11
edh, just FYI, cvars are set using + instead of -. Same thing for console commands in general (+connect localhost etc.).
Reply

#12
Okay guys. I think it's not related with Xonotic at all. I have problem with other games, like Urban Terror, Unreal2004 - I'm marking this thread as INVALID.
Reply

#13
(06-20-2012, 12:55 PM)Mr. Bougo Wrote: edh, just FYI, cvars are set using + instead of -. Same thing for console commands in general (+connect localhost etc.).
I guess I'm showing how much I still relate to doing things with Quake in the old days! With GLQuake you could only set video modes on the command line when starting the game and it was -width, -height and -bpp. I get the feeling that these and the -vid_ ones still work with Darkplaces even if everyone else uses +'s these days.
I'm at least a reasonably tolerable person to be around - Narcopic
Reply

#14
Oh, maybe they do, yeah. I don't know about that.
Reply

#15
One silly fix that worked for me was to set the display scale to 100%
Mine was at 200% hence couldn't change the resolution ?‍♀️
Reply

#16
(08-06-2022, 03:09 PM)Unknown273 Wrote: One silly fix that worked for me was to set the display scale to 100%
Mine was at 200% hence couldn't change the resolution ?‍♀️

10 years later Smile
FAF - FERIS - COPENHAGEN - DENMARK - GNU/Linux  Heart
Homepage: https://feris-xonotic.net
Reply

#17
(08-13-2022, 02:44 AM)FAF Wrote:
(08-06-2022, 03:09 PM)Unknown273 Wrote: One silly fix that worked for me was to set the display scale to 100%
Mine was at 200% hence couldn't change the resolution ?‍♀️

10 years later Smile
Yeah
I learned about this FOSS game thanks to this reddit post https://www.reddit.com/r/xonotic/comment...urce=share

And tbh
I'm pretty god damn impressed by the game
Love it
Reply

#18
(08-13-2022, 03:16 AM)Unknown273 Wrote:
(08-13-2022, 02:44 AM)FAF Wrote:
(08-06-2022, 03:09 PM)Unknown273 Wrote: One silly fix that worked for me was to set the display scale to 100%
Mine was at 200% hence couldn't change the resolution ?‍♀️

10 years later Smile
Yeah
I learned about this FOSS game thanks to this reddit post https://www.reddit.com/r/xonotic/comment...urce=share

And tbh
I'm pretty god damn impressed by the game
Love it

Good! This game rocks on many levels. Ty
FAF - FERIS - COPENHAGEN - DENMARK - GNU/Linux  Heart
Homepage: https://feris-xonotic.net
Reply



Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [NEED HELP] Can't hear the announcer voice anymore gianmarco 4 406 01-16-2024, 12:26 PM
Last Post: gianmarco
  [NEED HELP] Can't set 2k resolution noteven 4 2,853 05-07-2021, 02:33 PM
Last Post: noteven
  [NEED HELP] Can't join anymore fenjrill 5 3,020 07-17-2020, 07:04 AM
Last Post: LegendGuard
  [NEED HELP] Sudden loss of sound in Xonotic, can not get it to return. SeveredinTwain 5 3,822 03-26-2020, 05:55 AM
Last Post: FAF
  [SOLVED] how can i get defrag entities in netradiant? bananovenc 5 3,483 01-03-2020, 11:31 AM
Last Post: SpiKe
Question [NEED HELP] can't build netradiant (SOLVED) bananovenc 7 4,304 12-25-2019, 03:34 PM
Last Post: illwieckz
  [SOLVED] Can't click on my name in XonStats TheChrississin 4 2,558 03-09-2019, 10:24 AM
Last Post: falco
  [NEED HELP] How can i swap my account on a different pc? GTFO 1 1,889 11-23-2018, 12:42 AM
Last Post: BuddyFriendGuy
  [NEED HELP] can't join any server in the list psy31 2 3,191 11-02-2018, 10:37 AM
Last Post: psy31
  [SOLVED] Can't connect to a server adem 2 3,038 02-23-2018, 06:49 AM
Last Post: adem

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread:
2 Guest(s)

Forum software by © MyBB original theme © iAndrew 2016, remixed by -z-