Create an account


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[SOLVED] How do I make a dedicated server at home?

#1
Sorry for such a stupid question,but I only made a server for Team fortress 2 once so this is new for me.I want to know how you can make a home dedicated server for this game to mess around on with friends.
I want to know which ports you have to forward, how you get a dedicated server and I also want to know how you can enable fast download for custom maps.
Reply

#2
The default port you have to forward is 26000 (UDP), but you can configure your server to use something different.

I suggest you read the documentation in server/readme.txt. It addresses all of your questions, I believe. Come back when you've read it Smile

EDIT: I've moved this thread into the appropriate section Wink
Reply

#3
(08-11-2012, 04:25 AM)Mr. Bougo Wrote: The default port you have to forward is 26000 (UDP), but you can configure your server to use something different.

I suggest you read the documentation in server/readme.txt. It addresses all of your questions, I believe. Come back when you've read it Smile

EDIT: I've moved this thread into the appropriate section Wink

wow,didn't know it was all in the games files( I added the exe to my steam game lsit and never looked at the map again xD). it's pretty awesome how they included a guide in the game itself ,and how they included a dedicated server exe(normally you have to download it) Big Grin
Reply

#4
Some of the docs are a bit outdated though, so don't hesitate to ask questions!
Reply

#5
Maybe i can get some help here as well. I have read the readme file. I have moved the windows server .bat file into the main directory and i have modified the server.cfg file and moved it to the data dir where the "big data.pk3" file is located. I have also tried moving the modified server.cfg file into several different folders, including Users/saved games/xonotic... with no luck.

Upon running trying to run a dedicated server, I always get the same message in the cmd window... "You have not written any server.cfg file yet. The server will therefore run at default settings."

My son can see the server in the public server browser. But it shows up as "Priori's Xonotic Server" (which is not the name that i changed it to in the server.cfg file) And it runs as a vanilla DM server, not as a minstagib with hook server, which are some of the settings that i changed...

Im on windows 8 and i believe that I have the most recent version of Xonotic. If that helps.

Thanks for any help!
Reply

#6
Priori, let's not spread this out in several threads. We'll stick to your own: http://forums.xonotic.org/showthread.php?tid=3976

Wink
Reply



Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  I can't see my listen server on server list fnmain 1 784 10-07-2023, 07:28 AM
Last Post: Grimnack
  Server not visible on the server browser for others or me DankoLord 1 1,891 02-21-2023, 08:02 PM
Last Post: ballerburg9005
  Let's make our servers community-like! xord86_64 3 1,102 02-03-2023, 05:36 PM
Last Post: xord86_64
  Docker Xonotic Dedicated Server ich777 18 11,974 08-15-2022, 12:44 AM
Last Post: FAF
  BaI server | South American Xonotic server (located in Chile) z411 0 2,834 01-02-2022, 11:36 PM
Last Post: z411
  Full server tutorial start-2-finish with maps & config from live server xonotic.us.to ballerburg9005 0 8,855 09-03-2021, 10:21 AM
Last Post: ballerburg9005
Question [NEED HELP] Server uses 40% CPU whereas Nexuiz server runs with max 10% e-pig 6 5,101 08-19-2020, 10:17 PM
Last Post: ballerburg9005
  [NEED HELP] Server dont appear in server browser abslimit 0 2,652 03-15-2020, 04:13 AM
Last Post: abslimit
  How to change server cfg on modified server veecho 4 4,454 04-24-2019, 08:15 PM
Last Post: BuddyFriendGuy
  Dedicated server setup Rec0d 5 8,497 04-03-2019, 02:00 PM
Last Post: Rec0d

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)

Forum software by © MyBB original theme © iAndrew 2016, remixed by -z-