Create an account


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Server SSD vs HDD

#1
I use to try to get a SSD server before but never really had any benchmarks if the SSD makes any difference in running several Xonotic servers.

I'm wanting to get a more powerful server but the SSD ones are always back ordered from OVH SYS and the same ones but with a HDD are usually available.

Has anyone done any performance tests with having say 4+ servers on the box.
[MoFo] Servers - North America - Hosted in Montreal Canada - Admin DeadDred [MoFo]
Reply

#2
I ran two servers on the same instance with SSD, both recording demos; I'm also serving maps via http on the same server. My players reported packet losses so I turned off one server. They say the situation is improved.

However, SPLAT got some players back to the scene and a North America pickup server is in need again, so I'll probably disable the demo recording and see whether two instance on one server work well.

The server is single core, 1G ram. But memory consumption is minimal.
Reply

#3
Well most of my servers were always E3 3.2/3.4 32GB and SSD and handled several Xon instances no problem. I had my vehicle server on there which was quite busy at the time with up to 20 players on, the CRA server which was getting up to 25 players on and was hosting EAC on there too and hosting all the maps on the same server. With the vehicles it would bring the CPU to 50-60% and load was about 1-1.5 but that's with 8 cores so not big deal this was from OVH France.

This time I have a i5/HHD/16GB and the CPU goes fairly high since the buff system on the servers goes up. I want to upgrade to E3 1245v2 4 c/ 8 t 3.4 GHz+ 32 GB 2 x 2 TB SATA but not sure if I should wait fro an SSD version to be available as they're sold out and they have a $69 set up fee per each server so would suck to get a HHD one and then find out I have to upgrade again.
[MoFo] Servers - North America - Hosted in Montreal Canada - Admin DeadDred [MoFo]
Reply



Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  I can't see my listen server on server list fnmain 1 626 10-07-2023, 07:28 AM
Last Post: Grimnack
  Server not visible on the server browser for others or me DankoLord 1 1,782 02-21-2023, 08:02 PM
Last Post: ballerburg9005
  BaI server | South American Xonotic server (located in Chile) z411 0 2,723 01-02-2022, 11:36 PM
Last Post: z411
  Full server tutorial start-2-finish with maps & config from live server xonotic.us.to ballerburg9005 0 7,643 09-03-2021, 10:21 AM
Last Post: ballerburg9005
Question [NEED HELP] Server uses 40% CPU whereas Nexuiz server runs with max 10% e-pig 6 4,913 08-19-2020, 10:17 PM
Last Post: ballerburg9005
  [NEED HELP] Server dont appear in server browser abslimit 0 2,555 03-15-2020, 04:13 AM
Last Post: abslimit
  How to change server cfg on modified server veecho 4 4,254 04-24-2019, 08:15 PM
Last Post: BuddyFriendGuy
  [NEED HELP] Xonotic Server crashes TF2 server Professor 2 2,913 02-20-2018, 07:50 PM
Last Post: Professor
  0.6.0 Server not shown in server browser -maniac|Su- 2 3,719 06-04-2015, 10:48 AM
Last Post: -maniac|Su-
  Server appears to launch but is not in the server list TickleMeElmo 5 5,029 06-09-2012, 02:24 PM
Last Post: Mr. Bougo

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)

Forum software by © MyBB original theme © iAndrew 2016, remixed by -z-