Create an account


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[SOLVED] mouse and kb freezes (script related?)

#1
So the last few times I've played, I get intermittent freezes of my controls. When they come back, my mouse sens is all screwed up. My logitech mouse has 3 dpi settings, of which I use the highest in normal gameplay. After one of these freezes, that setting is too high, and the middle one seems too low. I suspect that this has something to do with a script that I've been running with Nexuiz (for about a year or more), which helps integrate my Logitech g15 keyboard. The reason I think this, is because the freeze/unfreeze is accompanied by the backlight coming on. Here is the script.
Code:
#! /bin/sh

[ -x "`which aoss`" ] && aoss=aoss
if [ -x "`which gnome-screensaver-command`" ]; then
   gnome-screensaver-command -i &
   inhibit=$?
fi

loadkeys -c -u -s us
setxkbmap -symbols "pc(pc105)+us"

export SDL_VIDEO_X11_DGAMOUSE=0
export SDL_VIDEO_X11_MOUSEACCEL=1/1/1

g15macro &
mpid = $!

$aoss "$@"
[ -n "$inhibit" ] && kill $inhibit

kill $mpid

xgamma -gamma 1
setxkbmap -symbols "pc(pc105)+us(intl)+group(alts_toggle)"
loadkeys -c -u -s us-intl.iso15

does anyone else have this keyboard? Or just give me a clue as to why it's acting up just now? Thanks.
[wnt!
Reply

#2
First of all, you should not be using aoss at all.
Secondly, inhibit=$? should be inhibit=$!
Thirdly, loadkeys? WHY?

And aoss may actually be causing such issues...
BRLOGENSHFEGLE (core dumped)

The Bot Orchestra is back! | Xoylent Easter Egg | 5bots1piano
My music on Google Play and SoundCloud
Reply

#3
Thanks for the reply! Someone kindly wrote this script for me, so I am not familiar with the inner workings. I replaced the ? with !, but could you tell me more about why not to use aoss, and what alternative I can apply to this script? As for loadkeys, I don't know what that does... but perhaps it is so that I can make use of the extra keys on this keyboard? Does it make sense that aoss would just now cause such issues, after no problems for so long? Some update broke something maybe? Thanks again, div!

-zombie
[wnt!
Reply

#4
After some testing, I'm pretty sure it's my psu. I've known that it's not strong enough, and I guess it's really showing it now!
[wnt!
Reply



Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [NEED HELP] Menu freezes falco 2 1,291 11-25-2017, 06:45 AM
Last Post: falco
  [SOLVED] Random failures to register mouse input Halogene 2 1,559 06-15-2017, 01:04 PM
Last Post: Halogene
  [NEEDS INFO] Menu mouse cursor stuck in invisible box nAnXiety 1 2,016 09-16-2016, 03:30 PM
Last Post: martin-t
  [SOLVED] I can only play 1 match, then Xonotic freezes. Brot 11 3,607 08-02-2016, 08:48 AM
Last Post: Brot
  [NEEDS INFO] mouse lag mumin 3 2,157 03-17-2016, 05:29 AM
Last Post: Maddin
  [SOLVED] Mouse limited to reduced area at higher resolutions / DPI Ishatix 5 4,629 03-14-2015, 06:54 AM
Last Post: Mr. Bougo
  [NEED HELP] GUI Mouse Problem with GLX Slackhead 2 2,763 08-31-2014, 04:22 AM
Last Post: Slackhead
  [NEED HELP] Mouse warping deoxys 0 2,013 12-15-2013, 06:03 PM
Last Post: deoxys
Question [SOLVED] Need Hellp to stop script kiddies..... kidx 25 13,890 10-18-2012, 07:28 PM
Last Post: kidx
  [NEEDS INFO] Mouse Accel issue Bolwind 17 12,247 10-09-2012, 12:54 PM
Last Post: Mr. Bougo

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)

Forum software by © MyBB original theme © iAndrew 2016, remixed by -z-