Create an account


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Server won't let more than 1 connect at a time

#1
So I am hosting a Xonotic server with Amazon and it works for the most part but I noticed something the other day that caught me off guard. When me and a friend try to connect to the server at the same time only one of us will connect the other will have to wait a few seconds then try again... But if we try this with someone else's server we both go through no problem. Any ideas how to fix this?
Reply

#2
Do you know what is says in the sever or game console when that happens?
[MoFo] Servers - North America - Hosted in Kansas USA - Admin DeadDred [MoFo]
Reply

#3
What is your server settings on amount of players which can join?

Kwakkie
[Image: 39855.png]
Reply

#4
(07-19-2016, 12:41 AM)kwakkiezalf Wrote: What is your server settings on amount of players which can join?

Kwakkie

We have it set to 16. And it will allow more than one to play at the same time we just can't connect at the same time. One player has to connect and the other has to wait a minute or so before connecting.

(07-19-2016, 09:15 AM)nightspawn9911 Wrote:
(07-19-2016, 12:41 AM)kwakkiezalf Wrote: What is your server settings on amount of players which can join?

Kwakkie

We have it set to 16. And it will allow more than one to play at the same time we just can't connect at the same time. One player has to connect and the other has to wait a minute or so before connecting.

Wait, I know there's a setting that dictates the number of people that can play at any given time but is there also a setting that decides how many people can connect at the same time?
Reply

#5
maxplayers?
check here also
http://xonotic.org/tools/cacs/#0a/0/connect

Kwakkie
[Image: 39855.png]
Reply

#6
(07-19-2016, 02:24 PM)kwakkiezalf Wrote: maxplayers?
check here also
http://xonotic.org/tools/cacs/#0a/0/connect

Kwakkie

I couldn't find anything of use. Was there something specific you wanted me to see? My maxplayers is set to 16 but I don't think that is the problem, it has to be something else..
Reply

#7
If you can paste your server.cfg into a pastebin for us to check for you (you can remove your password if you set any), it'd be easier for us to spot problems.

There are two variables. I only set the second one and leave the first one as default. I'm not sure how they differ though.

Code:
//maxplayers 0
g_maxplayers 16
Reply

#8
maxplayers is the maximum number of slots open on the server, and can only be changed via server restart or the "map" command (which kicks everyone).
g_maxplayers is the maximum players at a time, the rest are forced to spectate.
[Image: 230.png]
Reply



Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [SOLVED] Opensuse Leap 15.1 and Server.cfg ldegroot 3 322 08-01-2019, 02:52 PM
Last Post: ldegroot
  LAN server console commands dbl 1 567 06-13-2019, 04:55 AM
Last Post: martin-t
  How to change server cfg on modified server veecho 4 817 04-24-2019, 08:15 PM
Last Post: BuddyFriendGuy
  Server error "Weapon stats writing failed: -404" FlufyBuny 1 426 04-13-2019, 04:36 AM
Last Post: It'sMe
  Dedicated server setup Rec0d 5 866 04-03-2019, 02:00 PM
Last Post: Rec0d
  South American Dedicated Server Professor 3 808 03-03-2019, 07:02 PM
Last Post: end user
Information [TUTORIAL] Xonotic Server behind OPNSense (and pfSense) gurbe 0 586 01-27-2019, 09:07 AM
Last Post: gurbe
  Xonotic server running behind UDP proxy not working doombringeroperator 2 786 01-07-2019, 02:23 PM
Last Post: doombringeroperator
  [NEED HELP] Server show on the browser list, but I can't connect! Professor 1 806 12-19-2018, 11:39 AM
Last Post: Professor
  Server Setup for Dummies litvinenkotea 7 4,649 12-08-2018, 01:20 PM
Last Post: tehjester78

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)

Forum software by © MyBB original theme © iAndrew 2016, remixed by -z-