Create an account


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Having trouble getting transparent textures to work

#1
I'm trying to set up a basic window texture with transparency, but it doesn't appear to be working at the moment.

I originally went with a 32bit .TGA with an alpha channel, but this didn't appear to work correctly. I then tried using separate .jpg images. Neither has worked.

I've currently got three image files:
  • glass-lineframe.jpg
  • glass-lineframe_alpha.jpg
  • glass-lineframe_gloss.jpg
I've also tried a simple shader script (basically taking the hexglass shader and substituting my image name). Still nothing.
Code:
textures/map-aeris/glass-lineframe
{
       q3map_bouncescale 3
       qer_editorimage textures/map_aeris/glass-lineframe.jpg
       dpreflectcube cubemaps/default/sky
       dpnoshadow
       surfaceparm trans
       surfaceparm alphashadow
       q3map_lightmapSampleSize 64
       {
               map textures/map_aeris/glass-lineframe.jpg
               blendfunc blend
               rgbgen lightingDiffuse
       }
       {
               map $lightmap
               blendfunc GL_DST_COLOR GL_ZERO
               rgbGen identity
       }
}
The two main things I'm trying to accomplish are:
  • Have the texture render with transparency.
  • Have vis/light allow light through the texture when they calculate lightmaps


Attached Files Thumbnail(s)
           
Reply

#2
Try it without the gloss texture
Reply

#3
Ok - tried that. Doesn't appear to have changed anything :/
Reply

#4
Hmm, is there any way to see what shaders are being applied, I've been combing the output from the map build and noticed the following line:
Code:
Map has shader script /home/notavi/.xonotic/data/maps/../scripts/q3map2_aeris.shader
But that's not the shader script I created and I can't see it inside that path.... 
It does then proceed to parse the correct script but I've got a sneaking suspiction NetRadiant is being "helpful" and generating a shader script for me which is overriding the one I'm deliberately preparing.
Not sure how to confirm or disprove this theory at the moment though...
Reply

#5
There's a 'shaderlist.txt' next to all shaders you need to make one in the scripts folder like this if you haven't:

[Image: 68s8Q58.png]
Reply

#6
It actually turned out to be something a lot dumber than that.
In my shader, the path that was typed was 'map-aeris', not 'map_aeris'.
Fixed that and now it's working properly.
Reply



Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Textures: Techy Julius 6 533 01-12-2019, 09:05 AM
Last Post: Julius
  Textures: Julius's Light Beams Julius 2 457 01-11-2019, 08:30 AM
Last Post: Julius
  [NEED HELP] Custom NetRadiant Textures / Textures Not Loading 3agle427 2 500 12-30-2018, 09:21 AM
Last Post: 3agle427
  Textures: Tabun Decals Julius 3 484 12-17-2018, 05:05 AM
Last Post: Lyberta
  Textures: Nobiax Impacts Julius 0 316 12-07-2018, 02:53 PM
Last Post: Julius
  How would i create glass textures? Molnija 2 521 10-28-2018, 01:07 PM
Last Post: Molnija
  I need help with textures. [Solved] TapX 5 1,139 05-11-2018, 02:22 PM
Last Post: Julius
  NetRadiant - Some Textures Working / Some Not Notavi 1 1,638 05-16-2016, 03:50 PM
Last Post: Beagle
  Textures not showing in NetRadiant munyul 10 4,365 10-26-2015, 04:59 AM
Last Post: Smilecythe
  High-resolution Trak textures acerspyro 8 4,666 07-13-2015, 02:15 PM
Last Post: acerspyro

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)

Forum software by © MyBB original theme © iAndrew 2016, remixed by -z-