Create an account


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[SOLVED] DSL Crash while playing Xonotic

#1
Hello there !

I have a problem with Xonotic. When i play online, sometimes i got some Lag Spikes with like 1 second of " freeze " then in a random period of time, my DSL connection crashes...

This problem is occuring only on Xonotic ! On Classic Nexuiz or other games such Quake Live / Battlefield 3 / etc etc i don't have any problem and my ping is great, since my DSL is setted to Fast !

How can i solve this problem on Xonotic and dont get anymore connection crashes ?! Anyone had this problem and resolved it ?!

Thanks =)
Reply

#2
Is it the router that crashes, or is it your link to it?
Does your router / modem have any logging capabilities? Please provide logs if possible.
Can you try setting your net options in xonotic to something slower?

Here are two slightly related threads, where the OPs have their net crash while the server list is polled:

http://forums.xonotic.org/showthread.php?tid=2771
http://forums.xonotic.org/showthread.php?tid=2192
[Image:http://i.imgur.com/4XODR.png]640K ought to be enough for anybody.
     ― Linux Torvalds
Reply

#3
The only way to fix this would be reducing cl_netfps to 30.
BRLOGENSHFEGLE (core dumped)

The Bot Orchestra is back! | Xoylent Easter Egg | 5bots1piano
My music on Google Play and SoundCloud
Reply

#4
(03-30-2012, 09:21 AM)Mr. Bougo Wrote: Is it the router that crashes, or is it your link to it?
Does your router / modem have any logging capabilities? Please provide logs if possible.
Can you try setting your net options in xonotic to something slower?

Here are two slightly related threads, where the OPs have their net crash while the server list is polled:

http://forums.xonotic.org/showthread.php?tid=2771
http://forums.xonotic.org/showthread.php?tid=2192

Nope the router is fine, but the ADSL and PPP crashes after some random minutes i play online ! As said, before those connection crashes i have many lag spikes with the clock showing in the upper left corner of the screen !

Have to see if i can save the logs and i never done this before, since i have no problems with other games i play online !

Gonna check the links, thanks

(03-30-2012, 10:05 AM)divVerent Wrote: The only way to fix this would be reducing cl_netfps to 30.

I can set it also throu' the console Or there is a txt to edit ?

Thanks for the replies, on monday - since i'm not at home right now - i will try the stuff ! thanks
Reply

#5
Set it through the console, it will be saved into your config.
[Image:http://i.imgur.com/4XODR.png]640K ought to be enough for anybody.
     ― Linux Torvalds
Reply

#6
(03-30-2012, 05:32 PM)Mr. Bougo Wrote: Set it through the console, it will be saved into your config.

I have setted throu' console cl_netfps 30 but doesn't works ! no crashes at all and now i have continuos lag spikes every 0,5 / 1 sec !

I've tried also this net_slist_queriespersecond 10 , but same stuff as above... =|

Any other problems that may cause those lag spikes ?! Checked also the other threads with the same - or at last - problem... I'm always at the start =(

A mate of mine play xonotic without any problems, no lag, no crashes, etc etc... Another one can't join the servers xD
Reply

#7
Check your router log, this is important. I've had trouble with tcp traffic being blocked in the past on a crappy router, and reading the log saved me.
[Image:http://i.imgur.com/4XODR.png]640K ought to be enough for anybody.
     ― Linux Torvalds
Reply

#8
@Psygnosis,

Is it a single router/firewall/adsl unit or do you have an "dumb" adsl modem and then a firewall/router behind it (2 devices)? Which configuration is it? Also, do you rent this from your ISP? If so you might be able to get a free replacement from them by stating it is having issues.

To get to your router logs you need to go to the web interface and look for logs. That is, if it has that function at all...
Reply

#9
(04-02-2012, 04:48 PM)evit Wrote: @Psygnosis,

Is it a single router/firewall/adsl unit or do you have an "dumb" adsl modem and then a firewall/router behind it (2 devices)? Which configuration is it? Also, do you rent this from your ISP? If so you might be able to get a free replacement from them by stating it is having issues.

To get to your router logs you need to go to the web interface and look for logs. That is, if it has that function at all...


It's a single Router that i have bought years and years ago when i replaced the "dumb" adsl modem rented from my ISP !

To get the logs i need first to run the game, join the server, then save the logs if the router have this option ?! I never done this before XD
Reply

#10
Enable logging in the router, then try to reproduce your dsl crash and have a look at the logs after it crashed.
[Image:http://i.imgur.com/4XODR.png]640K ought to be enough for anybody.
     ― Linux Torvalds
Reply

#11
(04-04-2012, 03:21 PM)Mr. Bougo Wrote: Enable logging in the router, then try to reproduce your dsl crash and have a look at the logs after it crashed.

Checked out now and i can save the logs. I will try soon...

If i will not crash and only get lag spikes, the logs will register this status ?! Because with the cl_netfps 30 i dont have no more crashes and only those lag spikes every sec... That depends also from the server...
Reply

#12
Try both! I can't predict what the router will say, that's why we need the logs Tongue
[Image:http://i.imgur.com/4XODR.png]640K ought to be enough for anybody.
     ― Linux Torvalds
Reply

#13
tried... no crashes =| and the lag spikes were not recorded by the logs... rofl !
(04-04-2012, 04:05 PM)Mr. Bougo Wrote: Try both! I can't predict what the router will say, that's why we need the logs Tongue

tried... no crashes =| and the lag spikes were not recorded by the logs... rofl !
i got something wait ! XD

1/1/2000 10:40:28> SNMP TRAP 2: link down
1/1/2000 10:40:28> netMakeChannDial: err=-3001 rn_p=804e5dc0
1/1/2000 10:40:28> MPOA Link Down
1/1/2000 10:40:28> mpoaChannDown: ch<0> null iface
1/1/2000 10:40:28> netMakeChannDial: err=-3001 rn_p=804e5dc0
1/1/2000 10:40:58> Last errorlog repeat 457 Times
1/1/2000 10:40:58> MPOA Link Up
1/1/2000 10:40:59> ppp_ready: ch:8052fa6c, iface:80476dc0
1/1/2000 10:40:59> SNMP TRAP 3: link up
1/1/2000 10:40:59> Accept() fail
1/1/2000 10:40:59> Accept() fail
Reply

#14
So no idea? =(
Reply

#15
1/1/2000 12:50:5> SNMP TRAP 2: link down
1/1/2000 12:50:5> MPOA Link Down
1/1/2000 12:50:5> mpoaChannDown: ch<0> null iface
1/1/2000 12:50:5> netMakeChannDial: err=-3001 rn_p=804e5dc0
1/1/2000 12:50:35> Last errorlog repeat 191 Times
1/1/2000 12:50:35> MPOA Link Up
1/1/2000 12:50:36> ppp_ready: ch:8052fa6c, iface:80476dc0
1/1/2000 12:50:36> SNMP TRAP 3: link up
1/1/2000 12:50:36> Accept() fail
1/1/2000 12:50:36> Accept() fail


same stuff... now i crash when i launch Xonotic =| epic...
Reply

#16
That log doesn't really tell anything.

Well, the actual issue at hand is that your device can't handle statefully NATting/filtering lot's of UDP traffic apparently.

If this is your only PC behind the router which does gaming, you can try making your port assignment dedicated and thereby hopefully taking some 'workload' off the device:

In Xonotic Settings > Misc, set Client UDP Port (25000 for example)
then tell your router's firewall that it should forward/DNAT/allow inbound packets on that udp port to your internal PC IP.

You should also make the outgoing port assignments obvious to the device.
That is, explicitly allow outgoing UDP traffic (from your PC's (source) port 25000, if necessary) to destination port 27950 and also 26000-26500 or so (good servers should be using port 26000 and upwards)

This should pretty much be what a stateless firewall would need and if your lucky it helps your box from hanging itself trying to keep track of the udp flood.

// edit: also try firmware updating your box
// nyov in disguise
Reply

#17
i've set 26000 in the misc menu with the client UDP port, now i got less lag spikes and i have not crashed yet ! maybe this is the solution... hope it always works... gonna try some more matches in different servers, thanks
Reply



Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [NEEDS INFO] Game Crash On Load Castor 0 839 05-31-2018, 09:06 AM
Last Post: Castor
  [NEED HELP] XUbuntu playing with drivers and now Xonotic doesn't start Bla1 10 1,785 05-15-2018, 10:00 PM
Last Post: Lyberta
  [BUG] Play randomly restarts while playing Space Ace 10 1,657 10-07-2017, 03:18 AM
Last Post: Space Ace
  [SOLVED] NetRadiant crash "Got to split the buffer" PinkRobot 7 2,584 08-27-2016, 06:16 AM
Last Post: PinkRobot
  [SOLVED] Crash Upon Starting Second Level After Quitting First ehrenbrav 2 2,070 06-10-2015, 09:41 AM
Last Post: ehrenbrav
  [BUG] INFO_ITEM_WEAPON_UNAVAILABLE Crash coppelius 3 2,821 01-02-2015, 06:21 PM
Last Post: Mario
Photo [SOLVED] Annoying information box when playing warpi 6 3,225 11-13-2014, 02:17 PM
Last Post: Mr. Bougo
  [NEED HELP] Temperature while playing simbian 5 2,821 02-12-2014, 09:51 AM
Last Post: edh
  [SOLVED] Preferences not saved when playing portable Xonotic on USB? Matoro 2 2,466 01-04-2014, 07:04 AM
Last Post: Mr. Bougo
  [SOLVED] Video menu causes the game to crash Divergence 8 5,577 11-02-2013, 04:55 PM
Last Post: edh

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)

Forum software by © MyBB original theme © iAndrew 2016, remixed by -z-