Create an account

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Does playing Arena shooters like Xonotic make you better at slower paced games?

Xonotic and OpenArena being the only FPSs I've ever played seriously I tried Urban Terror today. To my suprise I scored highly and ended up ranking second in the server my first match, and winning my 3 and 4, with at least 1.5 K:D ratio. I've never played any non-Quake type shooter before, and fully expected to be poo( Look at my Stats ) I found it so easy to aim at the much slower moving targets than in Xonotic/Openarena.
I felt like I was doing the matrix bullet time thing, getting head-shots left and right.

Has anybody noticed they're skill in slower increase after getting accustomed to arena shooters?

I'd say this is pretty much true and this works the other way around too (playing slower games makes you shi... in the fast ones ;-) ).

I can't tell if my skills went up when I started playing fast paced games, cause those were the ones that I played from the beginning, but I can definitely say that after not playing for a couple of years my skills went to hell ;-P.
My contributions to Xonotic: talking in the forum, talking some more, talking a bit in the irc, talking in the forum again, XSkie

Yes, it does for me. Xonotic duels are so freaking tough and fast that when I play BF3 on 360, it feels like everything is moving in slo mo. Some of the best matches ive had on BF3 were when I played Xonotic for a few days first. I played a ridiculous amount of Bf3 bfore, so I knew the game inside and out, but my reaction time was never so good as when I started to play Xonotic.