Create an account


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Nexuiz 2.3 maps question?

#1
How hard would it be to convert old maps and maps that are not in Xonotic to Xonotic please get back to me on this thanks.
Reply

#2
ok....... ... .. .

depends ...

internally wise xonotic is pretty much nexuiz 3 ... so any nexuiz maps should need minimal porting (some will just work Big Grin) although ... it is a good idea to swap out the old lowres nexuiz textures to hi-res xonotic ones ...

also xonotic makes many nexuiz maps feel smaller than they are in nexuiz so scaling up is another thing that may ... or may not be needed ...


many of the (good) nexuiz maps have already been ported ... which ones were you thinking about?

also
Quote: please get back to me on this thanks
this is a forum ... why would we not get back to you on this Tongue ...
also also ... normally people don't say thanks before they get a response ...
Reply

#3
Nexuiz is crap now Ill drove it into the ground and on the work shop One of them say animals gives me a boner wtf? What I wanna do is edit textures for a more higher end look but I cant get any pk3's working at all in Xonotic. Also would love to see a Xonotic for Doom3 keeping this free is the best i am a texture guy I wanna make a client side texture mod for optional purpose but pk3's don't work also wanna convert the maps Xonotic don't have yet thanks to Pcgamer24 for notifying me of the maps ill have to ask him since it was his idea to get maps from 2.3 that are not in Xonotic I thought all the maps were in Xonotic already.Yes getting my texture pack to work would be nice.

[Image: 1441v7o.jpg]
Reply

#4
Explain how the nexuiz pk3s don't work in Xonotic, please.

EDIT: And I'm seriously considering issuing warnings for posts like this. It's not only the grammar that makes it unreadable, it's the vague content too. Make a detailed list describing what the problem is in short sentences.
[Image:http://i.imgur.com/4XODR.png]640K ought to be enough for anybody.
     ― Linux Torvalds
Reply

#5
(09-03-2012, 11:00 PM)kidx Wrote: Nexuiz is crap now.

Ill drove it into the ground and on.

(the work shop one of them.)

Say, animals gives me a boner wtf?

What I wanna do is edit textures.

For a more higher end.

Look, but I cant.

Get any pk3's working at all in Xonotic?

Also.

Would love to see a Xonotic for Doom3.

Keeping this free is the best, I am a texture.

Guy, I wanna make a client.

Side texture mod for optional purpose.

But, pk3's don't.

Work also wanna convert the maps!

Xonotic don't.

Have yet thanks to Pcgamer24 for notifying me!

Of the maps, ill have to ask him.

Since it was his idea to get maps from 2.

3 that are not in Xonotic.

I thought all the maps were in Xonotic already yes?

Getting my texture pack to work would be nice.

There you go MrBougo.

Sorry kidx, but this is also to show you that the sentences you form in your head don't always come across the way you intended.
"Yes, there was a spambot some time ago on these forums." - aa
Reply

#6
wow all the hate here even on my custom flag wow epic.
Reply

#7
Again, as Mr B has said, what are the problems you have when trying to use Nexuiz maps? And why 2.3 in particular? Any examples of maps you have tried that have not worked?

The nexcompat pk3 should enable them to at least load in an unbroken state. This assumes of course that the maps you're trying are OK in the first place and there aren't some issues with missing textures or other assets from the original map packaging.

To properly port a map and make it a good Xonotic map you may still want to put some work into pickup distribution to balance things up. I wouldn't think retexturing is a high priority as by doing so you may lose some of the original art feeling of the Nexuiz maps, thus missing the point a little.

As for why some (most) Nexuiz maps aren't in the Xonotic release, well some of them were very old maps and only in for historic reasons anyway, people get bored and want something new.

(09-04-2012, 05:16 AM)PinkRobot Wrote:
(09-03-2012, 11:00 PM)kidx Wrote: Nexuiz is crap now.

Ill drove it into the ground and on.

(the work shop one of them.)

Say, animals gives me a boner wtf?

What I wanna do is edit textures.

For a more higher end.

Look, but I cant.

Get any pk3's working at all in Xonotic?

Also.

Would love to see a Xonotic for Doom3.

Keeping this free is the best, I am a texture.

Guy, I wanna make a client.

Side texture mod for optional purpose.

But, pk3's don't.

Work also wanna convert the maps!

Xonotic don't.

Have yet thanks to Pcgamer24 for notifying me!

Of the maps, ill have to ask him.

Since it was his idea to get maps from 2.

3 that are not in Xonotic.

I thought all the maps were in Xonotic already yes?

Getting my texture pack to work would be nice.

Now that explains it all brilliantly! Thank you Pinkeh, you are most definitely 'pro at grammar'.

(09-04-2012, 06:30 AM)kidx Wrote: wow all the hate here even on my custom flag wow epic.

Nobody even commented on your flag. No 'hate' was given so don't give us the persecution complex.

Just tell us some useful information on why you can't get the maps running and we will be happy to help you. Thank you.
I'm at least a reasonably tolerable person to be around - Narcopic
Reply

#8
Posting in a troll thread.
Reply

#9
kidx, if you made that texture yourself, good job. I like it.

I wasn't deliberately trying to annoy you. You have been asked to pick up your posting ethics on multiple occasions and it seems you don't want to do that. Then you should be prepared to take a small joke in return I guess. If one of the other mods thinks I am wrong, thon can remove or edit my post (but I will not do it myself).

The best thing though, is that people are still willing and trying to help you Smile
"Yes, there was a spambot some time ago on these forums." - aa
Reply

#10
Thanks i am not pro at grammar and also i have been treated worse than this.
Reply

#11
just think about it this way ...

type the exact words you would say to someone if you were talking to them ...
whenever there is a short pause add a , (although I use ...)
whenever there is a long pause add a . (although I stil use ...)

...
Reply

#12
Well i have my flags done,also i packed it with packscape on Linux.How do I pack the files again,I am lost here on this i ma trying to use proper grammar. The original ctf flags are in a folder dds/models,do I pack the whole dds folder or no.
Reply

#13
pk3 files are just zip archives, you can use any zip archive creator for this.

DDS files are compressed textures. If you're not going to convert your texture to dds, you should get the original dds files ignored by the game. This is done by adding an empty file to the pk3 archive using the path of the file that you want to be ignored.

So, your pk3 file should contain these:
Code:
dds/models/ctf/banner_blue.dds  (empty file)
models/ctf/banner_blue.tga  (your textures)
and so on for other .tga files.
[Image:http://i.imgur.com/4XODR.png]640K ought to be enough for anybody.
     ― Linux Torvalds
Reply

#14
so i delete dds/models/ctf/banner_blue.dds from teh orignal files there,Also i make my pk3 with just a models folder no dds correct?
Reply

#15
Don't delete the dds from the original pk3.

As I said above, your pk3 needs to contain an empty filed called dds/models/ctf/banner_blue.dds. I said nothing about removing dds files.

When the engine sees an empty file in a pk3 it just loaded, it discards the file with the same name if it has already been loaded. That's what you want to use. That way, it first loads the original dds file from the original pk3, but when it loads YOUR pk3 it sees the empty file and discards the original dds file.

Read my message above, I explained precisely what files you need in your pk3.
[Image:http://i.imgur.com/4XODR.png]640K ought to be enough for anybody.
     ― Linux Torvalds
Reply

#16
so i have to make a dds file all erased to be empty correct?
Reply

#17
Just open an empty notepad and save as whatever.dds. Make sure it's not whatever.dds.txt!
[Image:http://i.imgur.com/4XODR.png]640K ought to be enough for anybody.
     ― Linux Torvalds
Reply

#18
woah ... thats possible? .. cool ...

so I could have a snowy nex on my snow map ?
Reply

#19
ok thnaks alot i am working on this now,I hope this is gona work so fare its not working for some reason,Question is there exporting tutorial casue i merged all mips in gimp so i hope thats right.Here is a link to my flasg maybe you can test them?

http://www.mediafire.com/?kwbbzau75639cix
Reply

#20
(09-05-2012, 04:32 PM)hutty Wrote: woah ... thats possible? .. cool ...

so I could have a snowy nex on my snow map ?

No don't use that per-map, because it affects the games that follow too. Same reason you don't mod any official asset, for example effectinfo.
[Image:http://i.imgur.com/4XODR.png]640K ought to be enough for anybody.
     ― Linux Torvalds
Reply

#21
what you mean i did this the same way i was told,I don't know what you mean also my pk3 don't work.
Reply

#22
I was replying to hutty's post. I'm currently testing your pk3 and figuring out how to make it work Smile
[Image:http://i.imgur.com/4XODR.png]640K ought to be enough for anybody.
     ― Linux Torvalds
Reply

#23
ok thanks i thiught it was right ill be back tomorrow since i have to,Go to my parents but yea let me thanks alot.
Reply

#24
(09-05-2012, 04:41 PM)kidx Wrote: ok thnaks alot i am working on this now,I hope this is gona work so fare its not working for some reason,Question is there exporting tutorial casue i merged all mips in gimp so i hope thats right.Here is a link to my flasg maybe you can test them?

http://www.mediafire.com/?kwbbzau75639cix

Code:
Archive:  wbgs.pk3
  Length      Date    Time    Name
---------  ---------- -----   ----
        0  2012-09-05 17:55   models/
        0  2012-09-05 17:55   models/ctf/
   699180  2012-09-05 17:55   models/ctf/banner_red_gloss.dds
   524416  2012-09-05 17:55   models/ctf/banner_blue.dds
   699192  2012-09-05 17:55   models/ctf/flag_red_gloss.dds
   699192  2012-09-05 17:55   models/ctf/flag_red.dds
     5616  2012-09-05 17:55   models/ctf/glow_blue_glow.dds
     5616  2012-09-05 17:55   models/ctf/glow_red_glow.dds
   699192  2012-09-05 17:55   models/ctf/flag_blue_gloss.dds
   699192  2012-09-05 17:55   models/ctf/flag_blue_glow.dds
  1398256  2012-09-05 17:55   models/ctf/flag_blue_norm.dds
   699192  2012-09-05 17:55   models/ctf/flag_red_glow.dds
   699192  2012-09-05 17:55   models/ctf/flag_blue.dds
   699180  2012-09-05 17:56   models/ctf/banner_red.dds
  1398256  2012-09-05 17:56   models/ctf/flag_red_norm.dds
     5616  2012-09-05 17:56   models/ctf/glow_red.dds
     5616  2012-09-05 17:56   models/ctf/glow_blue.dds
   699180  2012-09-05 17:56   models/ctf/banner_blue_gloss.dds
        0  2012-09-05 17:56   dds/
        0  2012-09-05 17:56   dds/models/
        0  2012-09-05 17:56   dds/models/ctf/
        1  2012-09-05 17:56   dds/models/ctf/banner_red_gloss.dds
        1  2012-09-05 17:56   dds/models/ctf/banner_blue.dds
        1  2012-09-05 17:56   dds/models/ctf/flag_red_gloss.dds
        1  2012-09-05 17:56   dds/models/ctf/flag_red.dds
        1  2012-09-05 17:56   dds/models/ctf/glow_blue_glow.dds
        1  2012-09-05 17:56   dds/models/ctf/glow_red_glow.dds
        1  2012-09-05 17:56   dds/models/ctf/flag_blue_gloss.dds
        1  2012-09-05 17:56   dds/models/ctf/flag_blue_glow.dds
        1  2012-09-05 17:56   dds/models/ctf/flag_blue_norm.dds
        1  2012-09-05 17:56   dds/models/ctf/flag_red_glow.dds
        1  2012-09-05 17:56   dds/models/ctf/flag_blue.dds
        1  2012-09-05 17:56   dds/models/ctf/banner_red.dds
        1  2012-09-05 17:56   dds/models/ctf/flag_red_norm.dds
        1  2012-09-05 17:56   dds/models/ctf/glow_red.dds
        1  2012-09-05 17:56   dds/models/ctf/glow_blue.dds
        1  2012-09-05 17:56   dds/models/ctf/banner_blue_gloss.dds
---------                     -------
  9636100                     37 files

Ow, those files don't seem empty. I forgot you used Linux, most editors there add an empty line at the end of files. If you can use a terminal, use the "touch" command to create empty files. Use as argument a filename that doesn't exist yet to create it as an empty file.

I also see you used dds files in models/ctf. How did you make these?


It doesn't work for me, probably because the engine expects dds files to be in the dds directory. I attached two packages that work for me.

The first one, wbgs_jpg.pk3, uses jpeg textures. It uses empty dds files to get rid of the originals so that the engine uses the jpg ones. I added extra empty dds files in models/ctf just in case, but I can't test if they are necessary on my setup.

The second one uses your original dds files and is trickier. It seems that, to work correctly, the dds files must be in two places: dds/models/ctf and models/ctf. To avoid redundancies, the models/ctf files are made to be links (symbolic links) to the dds/models/ctf ones. The release scripts make the links point to the path of the file without any leading component, so models/ctf/foo.dds points to "dds/models/ctf/foo.dds" and not "../../dds/models/ctf/foo.dds" like a usual symlink should.

As a note:
I created this last archive by putting the dds files in the right place and then, from the directory containing the dds files, did
Code:
mkdir -p models/ctf
ln -s dds/models/ctf/*.dds models/ctf/
to create links in models/ctf pointing to "dds/models/ctf/whatever.dds". Then, to zip it up with the symlinks, I did
Code:
zip -ry wbgs_dds.pk3 dds models


Attached Files
.pk3   wbgs_jpg.pk3 (Size: 2.85 MB / Downloads: 1)
.pk3   wbgs_dds.pk3 (Size: 3.11 MB / Downloads: 5)
[Image:http://i.imgur.com/4XODR.png]640K ought to be enough for anybody.
     ― Linux Torvalds
Reply

#25
hmm .. modding the flag texture is different from modding the nex texture?
Reply



Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Chat color question Molnija 0 573 11-14-2018, 02:26 AM
Last Post: Molnija
  Quick question ... devnexen 5 1,764 04-15-2018, 05:24 PM
Last Post: Kim Jong-Ben
  Where can I find the self animated weapons from Nexuiz? MirceaKitsune 14 9,637 11-08-2014, 07:29 PM
Last Post: MirceaKitsune
  Question and Rant on the LG and MG changes. GegoXAREN 5 3,257 11-26-2012, 04:16 PM
Last Post: hutty
Photo XPM Question? kidx 4 3,166 09-01-2012, 07:19 AM
Last Post: kidx
  Weapon Settings Question? kidx 22 10,557 08-30-2012, 08:04 PM
Last Post: Mr. Bougo
  A question of getting started with Quakec timetopat 5 5,135 07-02-2012, 07:55 AM
Last Post: timetopat
  Are maps in Xonotic hinted? Majki 18 10,220 06-15-2012, 10:38 AM
Last Post: Majki
Brick Proposal to change the mapping procedure for official Xonotic maps CuBe0wL 21 21,986 04-13-2012, 10:40 AM
Last Post: Samual
  Possible to edit maps on Mac OS X Lion? 300zxkyle 2 3,912 04-03-2012, 09:44 AM
Last Post: theShadow

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)

Forum software by © MyBB original theme © iAndrew 2016, remixed by -z-