Create an account


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[SOLVED] Texture Question?

#1
What is the Highest Resolution Xonotic can take any one know this ?
Reply

#2
It depends on the map.
So depending on the map, it could be (over 9000)
Reply

#3
NetRadiant as well as Xonotic handle textures up to 8192^2 pixels, greater ones aren´t displayed anymore or even makes the game to crash, though Q3Map2 still compiles the map.

The problem is that the bigger the resolution the bigger will be the filesize of the image. This affects the loading and compile time plus downloading your files will take ages. I made a test image (greyscale, so coloured images will be even bigger!) and wrote down the file size of each:

1024^2 : 0.1Mb
2048^2 : 1.5Mb
4096^2 : 5.3Mb
8192^2 : 19.3Mb
16384^2 : 65.6Mb

I would say keep your textures as small as possible. Use 1024^2 images for regular things and if it´s really needed then 2048^2.
Reply

#4
but i just tested with a grey 8192x8192 image and compressed to the png format, and the resulting file size is only 212K!

kidx i'd say 8192^2 is legit go for it
Links to my: SoundCloud and bandcamp accounts
Reply

#5
But what makes me curious is why you need such high resolutions?
Reply

#6
For high quality.
[Image: 0_e8735_c58a251e_orig]
Reply

#7
While huuuuuuuge textures are possible, don't go there unless you have a good reason too. As mentioned they increase file size and load time, but more importantly they eat up GPU memory needed for other things. Most things are fine at 1024^2, you could go as high as 4096 for specific things, but at that's mainly necessary when skinning (eg using models). For brushwork using a lower texture scale and multiple textures is the way to achieve high detail. Also note that if you're looking for max texture sexyness, begin with making sure you turn off all compression options:
Code:
gl_texturecompression
gl_texturecompression_2d
gl_texturecompression_color
gl_texturecompression_gloss
gl_texturecompression_glow
gl_texturecompression_lightcubemaps
gll_texturecompression_normal
gl_texturecompression_q3bspdeluxemaps
gl_texturecompression_q3bsplightmaps
gl_texturecompression_reflectmask
gl_texturecompression_sky
gl_texturecompression_sprites

gl_picmip
gl_picmip_other
gl_picmip_sprites
gl_picmip_world

gl_max_size

Set all those to 0 and do a vid_restart. Be warned though, unless you have a gpu with tons of onboard memory, even the default maps and assets will likely mean constant dipping into system memory which in turn means lower performance.
Reply



Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [SOLVED] Not displayed sky texture Cybermax 5 1,754 03-17-2016, 05:14 AM
Last Post: Maddin
  [NEEDS INFO] Game crashes while loading - could not load texture "overkillbullet" |OSiRiS| 5 2,930 10-17-2015, 03:44 PM
Last Post: BuddyFriendGuy
  [SOLVED] texture shows in NetRadiant but not in game BuddyFriendGuy 3 2,705 04-02-2015, 05:18 AM
Last Post: Maddin
  [SOLVED] gameplay question: weaponchange TheGoodGamer 2 1,892 03-11-2014, 02:28 AM
Last Post: machine!
  [SOLVED] Quick Question about the update tool satuim 14 7,113 06-28-2013, 05:17 AM
Last Post: satuim
  [SOLVED] Texture corruption with Intel graphics zykure 9 8,712 12-16-2012, 04:41 AM
Last Post: adem
  [SOLVED] Install/ .exe question.... Athletic_Anchovy 5 3,924 10-09-2012, 01:49 PM
Last Post: Athletic_Anchovy
  [NEEDS INFO] Texture compression is required but not supported Axon 3 3,148 04-04-2012, 09:57 PM
Last Post: edh
  [SOLVED] Vehicle Question Chomps123 10 6,416 10-26-2011, 02:32 PM
Last Post: Chomps123
  [SOLVED] [Solved] transparency texture stop to be trans. Leeloo 9 6,890 09-21-2011, 09:17 AM
Last Post: Leeloo

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)

Forum software by © MyBB original theme © iAndrew 2016, remixed by -z-